PDA

View Full Version : Xactions with same database parameters



radzar
05-19-2008, 09:12 AM
Hello
I'm working with a lot of xactions which connects to the same database.
My question is : Should I to specify for every xaction, the database parameters : url, driver, username ,password...
How can i do to not having to enter the same parameters again and again?
Any help is appreciated, Thanks

bugg_tb
05-19-2008, 09:17 AM
why not use JNDI?

radzar
05-19-2008, 11:19 AM
ok how can we create one please?

bugg_tb
05-19-2008, 11:26 AM
If you are running a Pentaho server just select JNDI and add the corresponding JNDI name to what you are running on the server then the xaction will automatically know which database you are talking about.

tom

ingo.klose
05-19-2008, 11:29 AM
Hi,

how to add a datasource to your server -

for JBOSS: http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/PentahoDoc/Configuring+JNDI+Datasources+for+use+in+the+Pentaho+BI+Platform
for Tomcat: http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/Reporting/Creating+a+Data+Source+for+Tomcat

Regards,
Ingo

radzar
05-19-2008, 12:01 PM
Thanks a lot guys