PDA

View Full Version : Existing Report as Sub-Report not longer possible?



Ralph
03-23-2012, 09:57 AM
Hi,

Documentation of Report Designer 3.0 says that
If you have an existing report that you want to include as a sub-report, in the Properties pane, specify its location and file name in the File Path field.
In the later versions documentation this sentence is missing. So, is there no more the possibility to include an existing report as a sub-report via file? I can't find "File Path" anywhere in Report Designer 3.8....Any workaround would be very welcome.

Thanks & regards
Ralph

mgie
03-23-2012, 10:20 AM
You're right. This option is not available in the new report format (prpt). You would have to open the prpt-file with a zip tool and merge-in your subreports manually. If you know how the inner structure works, you can do it but it is not officially recommended

Ralph
03-23-2012, 10:43 AM
I don't know how the inner structure works. Also I don't want to work with inserting something into a zip file to design a report. So I have to do all the reports again, nice....But thanks anyway for your fast and clear response!