US and Worldwide: +1 (866) 660-7555
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: saiku + mondrian using star schema, boolean column showing all results, not unique

Default saiku + mondrian using star schema, boolean column showing all results, not unique

Admittedly, I'm new to dimensional modeling; but I am reading my recently purchased Mondrian in Action book and have built a few fact/dimension tables.

My fact table has the following dimensions:

1. external_number_id
    2. internal_number_id

And the measure:
    1. count (number of calls)

My exernal_number dimension has columns like:
    1. external_number_id
    2. external_number
    3. city
    4. state
    5. country
    6. isValidNumber (boolean in a postgresql database)

Using Mondrian 3.61 I built a schema adding isValidNumber as a level to my dimension and when I use it in Saiku (didn't try pivot4J) and place 'isValidNumber' in the filter, it brings back "TRUE" or "FALSE" for every records where I was expecting simply (2) options.

Any thoughts on what I missed? I see the 'uniqueMembers' check box, but from what I have read, that is not it.

Many thanks for any leads!

ONE NOTE - if I move the dimension to the ROWS section (not the FILTER section) then it does only show unique values.

I would still like to understand the difference here, if anyone knows what the heck this rookie is talking about!

Rats..nope...scratch that last comment.

When isValidNumber is on the Rows by itself, lots and lots of TRUE/FALSE values appear. I had other dimensions added to rows limiting the result set.

So, in sum, I have an Understanding Fail.

Hmmm...I'm trying to imagine why you want the isValidNumber in another level...and I'm not coming up with anything. Can you help me understand what your plan is there?