US and Worldwide: +1 (866) 660-7555
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    Is the MDX supported in its entirety in Mondrian? Or it's partially supported?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    1,619

    Default RE: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    Mondrian supports a subset of MDX. (There are some features in MDX which even Microsoft, which defined the language, does not support in SQL Server Analysis Services.)
    That said, Mondrian supports almost all MDX gramatical constructs. Its support for builtin functions is more limited; because of time constraints, we chose to implement the most important ones first.
    Are you looking for any specific features? This being open source, it generally only takes a few days to implement a missing built-in function.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    20

    Default RE: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    I have a similar question, or rather 2:
    1. I can not get WITH SET construct working, even querries with this feature from the test classes return parsing error. Is this feature currently supported? I am using 1.0.1
    2. If I want to implement additional functions - like 1stQuartile, 3rdQuartile, where is the best place to add them and what should i use as an example for implementation?
    Thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    1,619

    Default RE: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    We do not support WITH SET. Please log an RFE if this is important to you. (Anyone else need this?)
    Functions are defined and implemented in src/main/mondrian/olap/fun/BuiltinFunTable.java. "Median" would be a good example to follow, since it is practically the same thing. I suggest that you write a function "Quantile(<Set>, <Position>[, <Numeric expression>])" which generalizes both median and your quartile functions.
    Median(<set>) == Quantile(<set>, 1/2)
    1stQuartile(<set>) == Quantile(<set>, 1/4)
    3rdQuartile(<set>) == Quantile(<set>, 3/4)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    20

    Default RE: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    Thanks!
    There is also another problem that I am having:
    when trying to slice by more then one tuple from one dimention, for example (I am using XML interface):
    where {([Industry].[Transportation]), ([Industry].[Insurance])}
    Only the last entry is used in the query, rather then both. Is this a bug? If so, if there is a chance to have it resolved soon?
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    1,619

    Default RE: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    I view multiple slicers as an enhancement -- by all means log an RFE. It is a bug that we accept the query you gave and give the wrong answer. I have raised bug 828411:
    https://sourceforge.net/tracker/inde...02&atid=414613
    Note that the bug contains a workaround for your problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    20

    Default RE: Does Mondrian supports the full MDX grammar

    Julian, thanks for workaround!
    I have submitted and RFE, including multiple slicers and SET support.
    Looking forward to the release that includes it.
    What does it take for the RFE to be prioritized?
    We are looking to using Mondrian in our product.
    If you'd like to discuss it outside of this forum, I can be contacted at
    mleznik@advisen.com
    .
    Thanks again!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •