Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Drill-Down in DashBoards

Post Drill-Down in DashBoards

Hi,

I am new to Pentaho.

Can anyone explain the steps to implement Drill-Down in Dashboards? Also,how can I navigate through the drill down views.
    For Example : If I want 5 counts of drill down to be enabled on my dashboards,How can we Implement this?

please provide some URLs or documents that explain this concept from the scratch.It will be very helpful.

Thanks & Regards,
    Karthik Pai.

I just started with dashboards to. You should check out the CDF tutorial from Webdetails. They are not expensive and give you insight of how it can be written in javascript. Personally for me, it was helpfull !
    I used mdx to define the levels which are in my cube. In the chart I can drill down through these levels. Sadly I cannot provide you any documentation .

Good luck!

Hi ,

That document is very useful but it is for CDF not for CDE !!!!!!

So , if you are going to generate the chart via CDF then sure go for it.
    but I think you need to start with CDE , if you understand the CDE first then you will also understand the CDF also.

Then go for that.

Thanks.

Thanks for your reply gvschijndel and Pranav.

So you mean that the only way to enable drill-down is javascript coding. Are there any GUI-side options available where we can specify the URLs and hence enable drill-down feature?
    Do we need to buy these documents for CDE or CDF ....or are they available somewhere on the net.

In any case,can you please provide me the link for the same.

Thanks & Regards,
    Karthik Pai

Default Drill Down using CDE

Hi,

I am new to CDE and also a javascript newbie

Dashboard.jpg

I want to be able to click on the month (for example Jun) for the first chart and then update the second chart (and also the month selector)

I tried writing something like this on
    click function of the first chart.(after reading from different sources)

JSError.jpg