PDA

View Full Version : How to do a bulk Load ??



SRK
02-04-2013, 01:05 PM
Hi, I am a newbie at PDI and wanted to know if there is a way to do a buld load from access databse (*.mdb)
to One table sql server

More detailed...
I have 10 Access databases in which i have 5 tables (tblVendor, tblSales, tblOrder, tblInventary and tblEmployee)
I want all the the Vendors form Access(*.mdbs) in MS SQL table (tblVendor) - 1 transformation
Sales form Access(*.mdbs) in MS SQL table (tblSales) - 2 transformation
.
. so on into one .job


My Question:
Instead of doing each Access Input set ten time and SQL output tbl ten time
is there a way to do one bulk update of all the Access tables into SQL tables

LidiaSchreck
03-19-2013, 07:11 AM
same problem has also made me tensed me too finding a solution for such type of solution.. any help would be appreciated a lot

gutlez
03-19-2013, 12:07 PM
Assuming that you have:
DB1.mdb
DB2.mdb
DB3.mdb

And each file has in it: tblVendor, tblSales, tblOrder, tblInventory, tblEmployee

**AND** you don't want to make any other changes to the data...

Build a Job:

Job1 (Master):
- Start
- Transform (Get Files to Load)
- - Get File Names (.*\.mdb)
- - Copy Rows to Result
- Job 2 (Set Vars and Process) **Execute for each row**
- - Start
- - Transform (Get Row and Set Vars)
- - - Get Row From Results
- - - Set Variable
- - Transform (Process Row)
- - - MDB Input (x5 - one for each table, source= ${ThisFile} )
- - - Table Output (x5 - one for each table)

ellisionthomas
07-09-2013, 05:39 AM
i'm also juggling with the same kind of trouble and looking forward for some apt solutions may come to my way soon

srikanth yarlagadda
01-07-2016, 07:05 AM
Anyone help me how to load bulk data into db2 through kettle