PDA

View Full Version : Cassandra Output with autentification does not work.



DeepYou
07-15-2013, 06:28 AM
Hello PDI developers and users.
I have a problem and I would like to know if is a problem of my system or "something else", for "something else" I mean a strange behavior of pentaho data integration Cassandra Output Step.


It's few months that I use the Cassandra Output step to write data in Cassandra and It alway worked well. Until few days ago my Cassandra system configuration had just a single node and no autentification required. It had empty username and empty password, like every example showed in the Cassandra Output Step tutorial or guide.


Now our Cassandra system required a username and a password for security reason.
I'm able to write and read with different cassandra clients, for example cassandra-cli, chsql client and other custom applications.


If I run the same transformation that worked well without useraname and password, obviously now setting the correct username and password in the Cassandra Output Step It doesn't work.


The stranger thing is that If I click "show schema" in the Cassandra Output Step I'm able to see the schema information, so I'm quite sure that the autentification process in this command works well, but when I try to execute the transformation I can read the follow error in the Transforamtion Logs.
Code:

InvalidRequestException(why:You have not logged in)

It's like the autentification process fails, but this is impossible because I'm able to see the schema information. Is that right?


In every tutorial and documentation about Cassandra Output Step I always see a configuration without username and password.


What I would to ask:


To PDI Cassandra Users:
Let me know if someone has ever tried this step with username and password, if someone has positive confirmation about functioning with username and password on cassandra means that there is some problem in my configuration.


Otherwise: To PDI developer please let's check the code of the Cassandra Output Steps, It seems that It doesn't use the autentification during the writing.


King Regard Gaetano

Mark
07-15-2013, 06:58 PM
Hi Gaetano,

I can't see any obvious problem in the code at the moment. However, please file a JIRA for this (http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI) and we'll investigate it further.

Cheers,
Mark.

DeepYou
07-16-2013, 04:16 AM
Thanks you so much.
I post on Jira http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-10258 and I hope someone can help me, because is so strange what's happens.

Thanks you so much.
Best Regards
Gaetano

Lennard
08-21-2013, 10:44 AM
Same problem here .. only usin W7 32bit. When i take of the authentication from cassandre it works fine .. so something is going wrong on the pdi site. Already tried to use other cassandra jar files cassandra-thrift-1.2.8.jar and cassandra-all-1.2.8.jar place of the 1.0.8 but end up with the same problem.

Mark
08-29-2013, 06:10 PM
This turned out to just be a failure in how the step was persisting it's meta data. Basically the username/password was not getting saved correctly, and since the persistence mechanism is used to create a copy transformation when it is run this was the problem. The cassandra steps now reside in their own dedicated plugin and this fix will be part of the upcoming 5.0 release. We also maintain a PDI 4 compatible version of the plugin. Both plugins have the fix and can be obtained from our CI server.

Cheers,
Mark.

kingram
09-24-2013, 06:13 PM
This turned out to just be a failure in how the step was persisting it's meta data. Basically the username/password was not getting saved correctly, and since the persistence mechanism is used to create a copy transformation when it is run this was the problem. The cassandra steps now reside in their own dedicated plugin and this fix will be part of the upcoming 5.0 release. We also maintain a PDI 4 compatible version of the plugin. Both plugins have the fix and can be obtained from our CI server.

Cheers,
Mark.

So how does one go about obtaining and applying this fix in PDI 4? I'm now having the same issue.

Mark
09-25-2013, 06:14 PM
You will have to remove the big data plugin in PDI 4.4 (because it contains the cassandra steps) and then install the new stand-alone cassandra plugin for PDI 4.4. You can obtain the plugin from:

http://ci.pentaho.com/job/pentaho-cassandra-plugin-1.0/

Cheers,
Mark.

dmoran
09-25-2013, 09:00 PM
You could upgrade the whole Big Data plugin which includes Hadoop, Cassandra and MongoDB.

https://support.pentaho.com/entries/24445558-Big-Data-Plugin-Version-1-3-3-for-Pentaho-BA-Server-4-8-1-x-and-PDI-4-4-1-x

The 1 big plugin was split into 3 separate ones which should make upgrading Cassandra easier.