PDA

View Full Version : Need Formula in Total Line

mark.mays
05-31-2006, 01:50 PM
I am very new to Pentaho, checking it out. I am hoping that I can move my organization from a proprietary dashboard environment to an open-source BI like Pentaho.

I tried the Report Design Wizard, 1.1m5, and could not figure out how to specify a formula in the totals line. I have a requirement that needs more than just a sum or average from 1 column. I'm not sure if I'm missing something feature-wise.

I tried BIRT (birt-report-designer-all-in-one-2.1RC3a), and it has a very nice interface and seems to do nice reports with a lot of functionality. BIRT was able to give me the numbers and graphics that I need, but when I tried to publish I get 0007 and 0012 errors which I assume are compatibility issues, since I found a post that indicated that the Pentaho releases are not synchronized with BIRT.

What is the best way for deployment of sophisticated reports, with graphics and formulas? Am I missing a feature in the Report Design Wizard? Do I need a back-level version of BIRT? I haven't tried Jasper yet.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

mdamour
05-31-2006, 02:13 PM
Mark-

You can absolutely do this with JFreeReport, no problem. You are not missing anything feature wise. The Report Design Wizard does not expose any calculations beyond the basics.

What type of calculation are you trying to do? Perhaps I can add it to our set.

With JFreeReport you can create any kind of function you want, either as a BSH (bean shell script) or as an extension (Java) to JFreeReport. With the BSH approach you can embed the calculation into the report at the cost of performance. A new JFreeReport function (Java class) creates a dependency on your report to that external function but the performance is much better.

You can actually upgrade BIRT in the pentaho demo manually, others in the forums have done this with success.

Looking forward to hearing back.
-Mike

mark.mays
05-31-2006, 02:31 PM