PDA

View Full Version : Different Report Types

slane
06-20-2006, 01:31 PM
Hello,

I'm new to open-source reporting, and I was wondering what are some of the advantages/disadvantages of the three options (Jasper, BIRT, JFree). I would want something that is flexible and customizable. The only output requirements are PDF.

Thanks,
Sam

guzaldon
06-20-2006, 01:58 PM
uhmm well I have been looking at all 3 for some time now. and it seems that the easiest to work with inside pentaho is the jfree.

The advantages to all three are that they are open source so you can make changes to them is you want was well as have a community for support. They all produce PDFs easily and all have similiar features.

I beleive that jasper 1.2.3 and birt 2.0.1 are supported in the next release though the Jfree seems to be the most flexiable when trying to do things outside the scope of it's current ablities b/c it can utilize the other aspects of pentaho and pentaho can improve it's implementation as suggestions come from the community. Jfree 0.9 should be out in the next couple of months.

As far as advantages go. Birt and Jasper all have nice gui interfaces and now Jfree has one in the works.
Jfree is part of pentaho
Jasper has IMO the best stand alone gui

Disadvantages.
they are all slightly different and and each have a learning curve as does anything "new" to do does.
Birt and jasper are not part of pentaho though they are supported
Birt has a gui but I haven't been able to get it up and running it kills my eclipse everytime.
Birt and Jasper have different communities and pentaho can only change so much before they can't do anymore.

I would say in about 2 to 3 months the Jfree will be much better and the clear choose than the other two once the GUI gets developed some more and 0.9 comes out and is intergrated.