PDA

View Full Version : K-means in weka: which distance measure?

romenx
10-20-2006, 08:06 AM
Hi all
I’m a student of Economy at Macerata University in Italy. I’m just preparing my final thesis on market basket analysis and I need to apply clustering with weka at transactional datasets composed by categorical binary variables. My intent is to group transaction in omogeneous cluster and then apply association rules on each of these obtained clusters. My questions are very simple but I’m not an expert of using such kind of data mining software tools:
1)first i need to know which kind of default distance measure is used in the k-means algorithm because there are no option to choose it and I can’t find anywhere. Is that an Euclidean one perhaps?
2) Second, i would like also to know if that measure fit well with binary data (0,1) or not!

Every suggestions and proposals are well accepted!!!!
Please help me soon!!!

Thanks!
Rob

Taqua
10-20-2006, 09:08 AM
Hi,

Weka uses the euklidian distance for the K-Means algorithm. If you need a different one, you would have to touch the code and override the 'distance()' method of class 'weka.clusterer.SimpleKMeans'.

Boolean data is mapped into 0 for false and 1 for true. Any numeric data is normalized to fit into the range of [0 to 1] too.

Some attributes might be more important than others - so after they have been normalized, it is common practice to weight them (or more primitive: to multiply that attribute by a factor).

dist = sqrt (weight1 * (instance1_att1 - instance2_att2)^2 + .. )

But Weka does not offer that option in the K-Means implementation.

So if all your attributes are equally important, then Weka will return the correct cluster configuration; if you need to weight them to make your model better fit the reality, then you'll have to touch the sources.