PDA

View Full Version : Why use XML for Report Defns

Anonymous
06-07-2002, 12:09 AM
I've been programming in database language 4GL's for 12+ years, and Java since 1997. The only useable Java report writers about have been expensive, buggy or both. The problem with WYSIWYG ones (GUI designers) is lack of control over the fine detail of the report. It seems to me that, using XML to hold a report defn, you're going down the same road, and it'll cause problems.

For example, I want to be able to change titles on page headers etc depending on group values. I may want to execute a database query or stored procedure on changes in group values. I may want to know the results of a before group variable in an after group clause - how can I pass these references inside an XML doc?

I may want to do almost anything you can think of, based on some arcane criterion. Using the XML approach is very clumsy; I have to write my Java function classes, reference them in the appropriate place in the XML doc, and continue on. Frankly, it'd be a hell of a lot easier to deal directly with these issues from a Java program directly than via this indirect method. I can see the utility for reports with similar structures, but for complex reports this is not going to work.

Also, there's an assumption that the column name in the table model will be known. A common 'boilerplate' report is to just dump the contents of a JTable which has been filled via an SQL query. The column names will depend on the results of the SQL query, so cannot possibly be hard-coded in an XML document as per the examples.

JFreeReports shows promise and I'm happy to contribute code for more group functions etc, but being able to drive it directly from a Java application, bypassing the whole XML parser layer, is essential. An example of how this is possible would be very useful.