PDA

View Full Version : cut & paste



Anonymous
09-20-2002, 10:44 AM
Hi,

Is it easy to implement cut portion of report on ReportPane and paste to e.g. Excel? Or is it even possible? Thanks.

Anonymous
09-20-2002, 12:03 PM
Since everything is being drawn using Graphics2D method calls, there's no way to select anything...so cut and paste becomes very difficult. Thomas is good at difficult stuff though, so let's see what he has to say!

Regards,

DG.

Anonymous
09-23-2002, 02:48 PM
Hi,

arrghh, the excel issue....

Ok, first, there is no way of advanced texthandling in the PreviewPane, the pane gets painted once and after that this pane is nothing more than a bitmap. All information whether an element is a text field or something else is lost at this moment, and cannot be recovered.

But there should be a possibility to write reports to HTML,Excel, RichText and XML. All these formats have one thing in common: They are not pixel based, so performing a reasonable layouting there will be difficult. You read the word? Layouting...

As far as I have implemented this thing, there is a separation between logical and physical reporting. This means, the reporting is done on a higher abstraction level and then passed over to the physical layer to actually layout and output the stuff. When everyting works as expected, the implementation of excel and all the other output formats will be just a matter of time ... with a little bit of luck, it will be done in version 0.7.8 ...

Have more fun,
said Thomas