PDA

View Full Version : Error executing MDX queries



tcarmona
01-15-2003, 10:06 PM
Hi,
I executed mondrian deploy-to-tomcat and there was no problem. I started tomcat,without problems too, and tried to execute the exmaple MDX queries but there was an error:
java.lang.NullPointerException
at mondrian.olap.OlapElementBase.toString(OlapElementBase.java:74)
at java.lang.String.valueOf(String.java:1925)
at java.lang.StringBuffer.append(StringBuffer.java:370)
at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.makeLevelMemberCountSql(SqlMember
e.java:144)
at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getLevelMemberCount(SqlMemberSour
va:88)
at mondrian.rolap.SqlMemberSource.getMemberCount(SqlMemberSource.ja
)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapSchema.createMemberReader(RolapSchema.java:2
at mondrian.rolap.RolapSchema.createMemberReader(RolapSchema.java:1
at mondrian.rolap.RolapHierarchy.init(RolapHierarchy.java:160)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapDimension.init(RolapDimension.java:109)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapCube.init(RolapCube.java:222)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapCube.<init>(RolapCube.java:78)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapSchema.load(RolapSchema.java:84)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapSchema.<init>(RolapSchema.java:72)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapSchema.<init>(RolapSchema.java:33)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapSchema$Pool.get(RolapSchema.java:113)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapConnection.<init>(RolapConnection.java:68)
at mondrian.rolap.RolapConnection.<init>(RolapConnection.java:42)
at mondrian.olap.DriverManager.getConnection(DriverManager.java:38)
......................
I used MondrianFoodMart.mdb and I created the corresponding system DSN pointing to it. All needed libraries are in the ClassPath and FoodMart.xml is in the right place.ConnectString is well-formed too. (I tested all these things).Whats the problem?Thanks

jhyde
01-16-2003, 07:47 AM
I presume that you're running 0.4.
Based upon the line numbers in the error stack, it seems that a null Level object was passed to SqlMemberSource.makeLevelMemberCountSql(). I can't see how that would happen.
Has anyone else seen this problem?
Within the next couple of days, I'll modify the code so that more context information appears in the error stack (e.g. which Hierarchy is being loaded).

tcarmona
01-21-2003, 04:59 AM
Hi,
Yes, I'm using mondrian 0.4.I've doing more tests but the result is always the same. Running mondrian on Tomcat 4.0 or 'mondrian.bat test' I always have the problem mentioned above, trying to execute a MDX query.
The instalation process is very simple and I don't know what I forgot to do.Thank you very much for any help that somebody can give me.