PDA

View Full Version : Null in Calculated Fields

andymcmanus
08-31-2003, 07:23 PM
Hi, I am new to MONDRIAN (quite impressed though!).
I have a MDX query that creates a calculated field as field_a / field_b. When either of these fields is NULL I get NaN in my output rows and I am unable to suppress these rows from the result set.
I've tried using isempty, iif and IS NULL functions but then the jsp containing the query throws an error - iif(, ,) not found, and similar for the other functions. Is there some trick to this???
All help appreciated.
Thanks....

jhyde
09-01-2003, 09:00 PM
Can you reproduce this with a query against FoodMart -- that would help a lot.
These NULL values: do they arise because no rows fall into the cell, or because there are rows, but their measure columns are NULL?

avix
09-02-2003, 08:13 AM
I have the same problem (but no foodmart at hand):
with member [A] as '[B] + [C]'
select {[A], [B], [C]} on columns,
non empty {whatever} on rows
from cube
where (lots of slicers for sparse result)
Now, if B and C are null, A is 0.0 and the row is not suppressed.
Andreas

andymcmanus
09-02-2003, 07:01 PM
Thanks for the feedback.
I have done some further investigation and it appears I get this problem when either the divisor or the dividend is zero (not null as I originally stated). Although I suspect that it would happen for nulls as well.
Ideally, I would filter out the offending rows (rows with 0 as a value) from the query prior to the calculation being performed, but I don't know how to do this either. My query looks as follows:
with MEMBER Measures.PrelimPassRate as
'(Measures.[Preliminary] / Measures.[Attempt Preliminary])', format_string = '##0.00;(##0.00);ZERO;NULL;Nil'
select
NON EMPTY {[Measures].[Attempt Preliminary],[Measures].[Preliminary],Measures.[PrelimPassRate],
[Measures].[Junior], [Measures].[Attempt Junior],
[Measures].[Senior], [Measures].[Attempt Senior],
[Measures].[Beginner], [Measures].[Water Discovery],