Hello,
I am very new to OLAP. A facts table contains the following:
- Security ID
- date
- profit
- trader ID
- Strategy ID
How can I specify the following measures:
- Weekly profit (Profit on 'reference date' - Profit on 'reference date - beginning of week('reference date')
- Yearly profit (Profit on 'reference date' - Profit on 'reference date - beginning of year('reference date')
- Daily profit (Profit on 'reference date' - Profit on 'reference date - Day before('reference date')
Any help will be greatly appreciated. This looks like a great project. Keep up the good work.
Thanks,
Tarek Hammoud

sgwood
11-29-2003, 07:52 AM
So, profit in the fact table is a cumulative profit figure.
I would suggest that for good slicing and dicing, your should change the profit to be "profit made on the given date for the trader, strategy and security".
Add a "time" dimension based on the date that defines the week and year that a given date is in. See
https://sourceforge.net/forum/message.php?msg_id=2206528.
Note that while the thread above talks about creating a view, I found (in Postgres) that is was better to have a separate DateHierarchy table that I could index to get good performance.
Then you can do MDX like:
select {[Measures].[Profit]} on columns,
{([Time].[All Periods].[2003].[January].[Week 1],
[Trader].[All Traders].[Joe Bloggs])} on rows
from TradingProfit
Enjoy!
Sherman

thammoud
11-29-2003, 09:59 AM
Hi Sherman,
Thanks for the quick response.
"I would suggest that for good slicing and dicing, your should change the profit to be
"profit made on the given date for the trader, strategy and security"."
What I really want is a set of values that represents daily, weekly and yearly profits for the trader.
For example,
Given a reference date, say 11/15/2003 , the result is to look something like this:
Trader Strategy Daily P&L Weekly P&L Yearly P&L
------ -------- -------- ---------- ----------
John Converts 100 300 -1500