PDA

View Full Version : Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?



giyoram
04-05-2006, 03:09 AM
Attachment: example1.rar (http://forums.pentaho.org/archived_att/kettle/example1.rar) i use the filter to check if a row exist, and if so continue to other steps. if the row i'm looking for does not exists i sent the results to "DUMMY".


even if no row answer my filter the process moves to the next step.
why?



i'm looking to do IF... then ... Else.

MattCasters
04-05-2006, 03:13 AM
For an if-then-else, you need to specify both the target steps for the then (true) and the else (false).

Hope this helps,
Matt

giyoram
04-05-2006, 03:34 AM
sorry, but it's not.
even if no row answer the filter (return true) the "true" target step is activated.

MattCasters
04-05-2006, 03:38 AM
Well, pardon me, but if the evaluation returns to "true", the "true" target step SHOULD be activated.

Can you give me anything to work with here?
It might be a problem or it might not be, I can't tell.

Thanks,
Matt

giyoram
04-05-2006, 04:04 AM
Attachment: example1.rar (http://forums.pentaho.org/archived_att/kettle/example1.rar) I read 2 rows from file.
filter the rows, bothe gives "false" and continue to false next step.
the true next step should not be activated but it is. read from file and write.

i attached the ktr and texts files.

MattCasters
04-05-2006, 09:55 AM
Hi,

Thanks for the files, that helped a lot.
The problem is not the filter output, not even this:

[4 - Error] Text file input 2
This step is not expecting nor reading any input
(even though that doesn't make sense does it)

The problem is the trailing extra cariage return at the back of the text file.
This is causing an empty line.
In a Kettle transformation it's not allowed to have rows with varying number of rows in it (going to the same step).

BTW, normally Text File Input should not send out empty rows. There is a fix for this in the development version.
For now, set a footer or 1 row to clear out the extra CR.

Matt