kiki
02-14-2007, 04:02 AM
hi,
pls any one give me some coding in JSP/Mysql to do the dashboard

thanks,
kiki

nicolas_gsid
02-22-2007, 08:08 AM
Why don't you take example of SampleDashboard JSP page included int he pentaho BI Server?
I studied all thoses JSP files, and now, i'm interesting in "How to export a dasboard" (I know a JSP cannot be changed in JfreeReport but i gad one need : convert a dashboard to XLS :) i have another post about this...)

roth
02-23-2007, 03:35 AM
SampleDashboard.jsp is a nice example of how not to code jsp pages and it's pretty hard to understand. The comments are mostly useless (not all of them, but there are a lot of redundant comments, like "set width" if the documented code is "setParameter("image-width" ...)" The mix of HTML and Java doesn't help, either.

Another thing that confuses me is that all dashboard elements are created through an object called ChartHelper. It eludes me why the main parts of a dashboard would be created with a helper object, and it eludes me why something called ChartHelper should be responsible for creating dials and calling actions.

To sum it up, the SampleDashboard.jsp is only of limited help for understanding how to generate dashboards.

Thanks,
Tobias

nicolas_gsid
03-05-2007, 09:44 AM
I disagree,
I've been working a lot of time on pentaho to find what can be done or not, and the best way i found to understand what can be done or not was to read examples codes...
Problem with pentaho is : we cannot find a technical or advanced guide that says :
"you can do that,that..." and "this is not available : ..."

Tobias what is your method for : "understanding how to generate dashboards" ?

roth
03-05-2007, 10:00 AM
I made several points on what I don't like about SampleDashboard.jsp. With which of them do you disagree?