PDA

View Full Version : Where to post bugs for new Ajax Reporting thingie?



Roland.Bouman
05-01-2007, 08:11 AM
Hi all,

I'm experiencing a number of issues with the new Ajax Reporting thingie in pentaho pci 1.5.3.660-0

I'm unsure where to post them. Can you pls provide a pointer?

thanks!

sbarkdull
05-01-2007, 05:51 PM
Hi Roland,

Thank you for offering to help us improve the Pentaho BI platform by posting defect reports! Your help is encouraged and appreciated.

Right now the most effective way to inform the Pentaho community about defects you've discovered is to:

send email to: communityconnection@pentaho.org

and/or

post the defect(s) to the forum.

Can you be more explicit about what the tool is that you are referring to as the "Ajax Reporting thingie"?

Roland.Bouman
05-01-2007, 10:46 PM
Hi sbarkdull,



send email to: communityconnection@pentaho.org

and/or

post the defect(s) to the forum.


Well, the email is not a problem for me I suppose, but I rather use the forum as other people mybe informed through that medium too. I probably was not explicit enough to point out that I have trouble locating the appropriate forum regarding the AJAX ad-hoc reporting tool that comes with the 1.5.3.660-0 PCI.



Can you be more explicit about what the tool is that you are referring to as the "Ajax Reporting thingie"?

So, what I mean is, when i unpack the 1.5.3.660-0 PCI, start the server, then use the menu and use "Go/New Report" I get a page at uri:

http://localhost:8080/pentaho/adhoc/adhoc1.html

Here, I can define a report using only a web interface. Problems seen so far:

#1 In the 1st page, I see quite different results comparing Firefox 2.0.0.3 and Konqueror 3.5.5 on Ubuntu linux (Edgy Eft). Most notably, when I click the "Orders" Business view in the left hand side, I see the "Customers","Order Details","Orders","Products" categories when using firefox, but "BT_CUSTOMERS","BT_ORDERS","BT_ORDER_DETAILS","BT_PRODUCTS" in konqueror. Similar label differences (exact label text as welll as sorting) are also seen on other pages of this ad-hoc query wizard. I think it should be exactly the same.
#2 In the 2nd page of the wizard, right hand side in the "Select Items" pane, it says I should drag items there. In any case, I can drag but not drop items. I can use the buttons to add selected items, but it is very inconvenient to change the order of the selected items without proper drag and drop, and also to place items into another group than group 1.
#3 page 4 still leaves the "Next" button enabled. It is not clear that the wzard has ended.
#4 the "Save" and "Save As" buttons pop up a dialog, but the "Location" input field of that dialog seems to have been muted. I get to see this as console output:

04:40:50,015 INFO [SolutionRepository] Solution Repository name not defined in Pentaho.xml node solution-repository/db-repository-name
04:40:50,138 INFO [RuntimeContext] 89c9a120-f856-11db-a259-11fccdfcfd0c:RUNTIME:context-32991105-1178073650013:session-region-list.xaction Output of "response" was present but output handler was null.

Would be great if you can explain what's the matter here.

kind regards,

Roland.

Taqua
05-02-2007, 07:06 AM
Hi,

as the Ad-Hoc reporting smells like an web-version of the report-wizard (it is based on the same ideas and uses the same (or very similiar) steps as the report-wizard), I'd post anything into the report-wizards/report-designer forum.

Have fun,
said Thomas

Roland.Bouman
05-02-2007, 11:13 AM
Hi Thomas,

Thanks for the tip :)

I'll repost the issues there. CU!