PDA

View Full Version : RSS problem on forums



sboden
05-03-2007, 03:01 AM
Something is wrong with either the RSS feeds or the forum setup. I set up RSS in thunderbird, and I see new notifications alright. But the URLs that are fed to RSS are of the form:



http://forums.pentaho.org/showthread.php?t=53723&goto=newpost


If you paste this URL in a browser it will fail with a "No thread specified" from the forum. If however you remove the "&goto=newpost" you do arrive at the correct thread (but maybe not in the last post).

Is it possible the forums are set up a bit wrong? That the "goto" part is not working.
The result is that you can't get a preview of the new RSS item.

Regards,
Sven

phart
05-03-2007, 10:12 AM
Hello Sven,

I also get a dead end if I paste the URL in a browser. Although if I follow the link from the rss page in the forums (orange icon) it seems to work fine. Ill check into it and see if its part of the forums or the output of the rss page.

Thanks for pointing this out.

sboden
05-04-2007, 02:35 AM
Correction on the last post... firefix with newsfox does do it correctly, so it may be a thunderbird problem after all... only strange that the URL above shows the "no thread specified".

Regards,
Sven

sboden
05-05-2007, 06:07 PM
Patrick,

I also checked with the RSS programs... it is a problem somewhere in the forum setup. It's easy to see what: if you open up the feed manually in a browser "http://forums.pentaho.org/external.php?type=RSS&forumids=153", and then you try to display the URLs which the RSS application would try to display as contents of the items you will see that some work and some don't.

E.g. in the feed of sunday 6th may (CET) you have the following:
- http://forums.pentaho.org/showthread.php?t=53281&goto=newpost doesn't work
- http://forums.pentaho.org/showthread.php?t=53268&goto=newpost doesn't work

The above are all of the Kettle mailing list. If you try the PDI main list: http://forums.pentaho.org/external.php?type=RSS&forumids=135 all of the URLs work.

So it seems some forums are setup correctly while others not.

Regards,
Sven