PDA

View Full Version : getting started with Pentaho

steth
08-03-2007, 05:25 AM
Hello, I'm an italian student, and I must test Pentaho dashboard for the university degree

excuse me for the english.

I must install Pentaho in a Linux Red Hat platform ... I have tryed to Install the preconfigured 1.2.1 GA version but I have see that version don't have the design studio.
I have uninstalled this version and I tryed to install the 1.5.5 Milestone but don't have the preconfigured install. I must install mysef a server to deploy this version or there is a preconfigured installation?
After the installation I must connect my platform with a Database Oracle in a remote machine ...
I have read the documentation but I don't have find anything that help me for this ...

P.S. There is another italian user in this forum?

thank you

elassad
08-03-2007, 10:46 AM
hi steth,

I hope i get your question right, so in your case you need the following steps:

1) download the PCI ( preconfigredinstall) which comes with Jboss and pentaho-solution and everything you need.
2) download the the design studio _Separately_ which is a plug in for the eclipse platform or even better, you could download the bundel.
3) connecting your server (jboss) to the orcale database is an easy task all you need to do is to create a datasource for your oracle database:
a) copy it (your-datasource-ds.xml) into /Pentaho_PCI_HOME/Jboss/server/default/deploy (if you need a sample configuration for oracle
check the doc directory of jboss there are some samples there.)
b) copy the oracle jdbc driver into /Pentaho_PCI_HOME/Jboss/server/default/lib

4) now you should be able to start jboss/pentaho and you can use the design Studio to generate report out from the database when you are done export those reports into
the pentaho-solution directory and access it via browser (after reloading the solution) note that you need to keep the Name of the datasource ( the jndi Name defined in the datasource)