PDA

View Full Version : Publishing reports



djjolly12
04-07-2008, 07:29 PM
I have followed the instructions in the wiki page to publish reports to the report server including putting the password in the .xml file, but I continue to get invalid username and password. I am not sure if its because I put in the xml incorrectly (MD5?) or if I am using the wrong password with the default user "joe".

Please help. Thx.

bugg_tb
04-08-2008, 01:32 AM
it works like: publish password: the one you entered in the xml, user:joe password:password

tom

djjolly12
04-08-2008, 01:28 PM
This is what I found on the forum and the wiki, but it is still returning the same message.

arjun27
04-15-2008, 01:12 AM
:confused: cONFUSEd !!! did the same thing as told in the documentation

defined a password in the xml file in the pentaho-solutions\system\ directory......

used the server userid and password as that of joe (Hope he does not mind!!! :rolleyes: )

Still am getting the same error.......

Does someone have some clue as to what is supposed to be done?

Thanks in advance.

bugg_tb
04-15-2008, 01:15 AM
er, theres no user id in publish password xml file.

Tom

arjun27
04-15-2008, 02:01 AM
Hey buddy,

My bad, lemme explain......

the xml file has only the publisher's password: Lets say : BOMBAY

at the publish domain page on Metadata Editor , I use the following:

URL Address: http:\\localhost:2500\pentaho

Mine is 2500 as 8080 is already used with Tomcat..... ( Hope this is not the issue )

Publisher's Password: BOMBAY

Server User ID: Joe

Server Password: password

and then as usual the screen flashes explaining that it could not publish...

:confused:

So, again i scratch the head and post in the forum :cool:

Thanks for the reply buddy.

bugg_tb
04-15-2008, 03:13 AM
URL Address: http:\\localhost:2500\pentaho


I honestly hope you don't form your url strings like you've put.

Anyway thats not correct as you need a path inside the pentaho system, so for example if you have the sample data installed, you need something like http://localhost:2500/pentaho/RepositoryFilePublisher in the publish url and you also need to specify a correct publish location for example /samples/reporting.

If I remember correctly (i've never managed to not publish) but it will probably print a stack trace to a terminal if you run in dos mode if your on windows, take a look and see what it says.

Tom

arjun27
04-15-2008, 05:38 AM
Done!!!

Actually the issue was with the port number......

Even though i had specified 2500 and the interface was on 2500...... still it was not able to publish......

So i moved it back to 8080 and it did publish....

Thanks man for your help