PDA

View Full Version : Seeing Database views in metadata



daslan
04-08-2008, 10:47 AM
Hi

I am using an Oracle DB. I need to also use the views that are there. I am using Metadata 1.6.0 GA. 162

How do I view the views. I am able to see the physical tables.

Tks,
Das

MattCasters
04-08-2008, 03:38 PM
You would have to need to use an update to 1.6.0. Because of an oversight, the "import from explorer" function was left out of 1.6.0.

Matt

jtcornelius
04-08-2008, 09:11 PM
The fix to allow select tables/views using Explorer will be included in the 1.7 release (to be released shortly). You can try it out today by downloading the Milestone 1 from the download center - http://www.pentaho.com/download/

-Jake

daslan
04-09-2008, 05:01 AM
Hi Guys

Tks.

I have downloaded Metadata 1.7.0.0.3 06. It has the import from explorer feature. I can now select a view. What it does not allow me to do is select multiple views, tables, etc? I need to click import from explorer or database explorer for each selection of a view. Because the DB schema is so large it takes at least a minute each time to gather info about DB then only can I select a view. Any ideas?


Tks,
Das