PDA

View Full Version : startup workload for a newbie

bitdoger3
04-09-2008, 02:49 PM
we already have a jboss server up & running..i'm designing a DataWhse (i'm an DBA), and i will do my own ETL (probably using RUBY 's datawhse ETL objects since i already know ruby)...what else do i need to do to get our end-users able to do Pentaho BI...do i need eclipse?... how much Java programming do i need to do...do I use MySQL database or Oracle?...what is the most hassle free path...thanks...dave

bugg_tb
04-09-2008, 02:53 PM
we already have a jboss server up & running..i'm designing a DataWhse (i'm an DBA), and i will do my own ETL (probably using RUBY 's datawhse ETL objects since i already know ruby)...what else do i need to do to get our end-users able to do Pentaho BI...do i need eclipse?... how much Java programming do i need to do...do I use MySQL database or Oracle?...what is the most hassle free path...thanks...dave

1) I strongly suggest you check out Kettle, its probably pentaho's strongest end user app and is designed to make your ETL life nice and easy

2) End users only need a web browser, once you have a server up and running all reports are served through JBoss and whichever browser your clients decide to use.

3) Java programming, well you can get by with none, or as much as you want to hack the system.

4) Use which ever database you feel comfortable with, as long as there are jdbc drivers your good to go.

Tom

bitdoger3
04-09-2008, 03:00 PM
apart from the data whse etl stuff...what supplemental software do i need? what's the role of Eclipse? ..what other startup tasks are there?? any documentation on these tasks??? thanx..dave

bugg_tb
04-09-2008, 03:02 PM
There's plenty of documentation check my signature :P