PDA

View Full Version : changing certain value to missing

mcbob
09-17-2008, 03:40 AM
hi,
is there a way to change certain value of an attribute to missing value, e.g. -1 to "?" for all instances?
and a range, e.g. all negative numbers to "?" ?
I have tried NumericCleaner, but I cannot set the CloseToDefault value to "?".
thanks.

Mark
09-17-2008, 05:39 AM
Hi,

Although I've never tried this before myself, it turns out that it is possible with NumericCleaner. Without some deep knowledge of Weka, you'd probably never work it out though :-) Weka uses Double.NaN to represent missing values internally. Here is an example command line that sets all values less than 6.0 to missing for the first attribute in the iris data set:

java weka.filters.unsupervised.attribute.NumericCleaner -min 6.0 -min-default NaN -R first -i iris.arff

Cheers,
Mark.

mcbob
09-17-2008, 11:23 AM
perfect.
coming from SPSS, I was looking for the functionlity of the SPSS recode command. :)
thanks a lot.

wirefree
05-06-2009, 12:31 PM
I would greatly appreciate if you could address a more fundamental concern of mine i.e.:

By observing what set of properties of an attribute can I ascertain that it requires "cleaning"? Further, does Weka provide tools to ascertain the same?

Look forward to advise.

Best,
wirefree

Mark
05-06-2009, 10:17 PM
Hi,

Data cleaning typically involves domain-specific knowledge that you can apply in order to filter out or correct values that are considered illegal or exceed allowable ranges etc. So, such "rules" will differ depending on the application.

Outlier detection is closely related and involves automatically detecting data points that are out of the norm when compared with the overall distribution of the data. There is a body of research dedicated to this but I'm afraid it's an area that I'm not familiar with.