PDA

View Full Version : Predictive Modeling using WEKA

pro_naveen
05-31-2009, 11:37 PM
Hi:),

I have some knowledge to Data miner tool- "WEKA". I just wanted to get a brief explanation about "Implementing Predictive modeling using WEKA".:confused:

I also wanted to know the difference betweeen the "Output of the Cross validation stratergy and Output of the training set", how these two are related to each other.......?

I request anyone who has some knowledge about this to please help me to resolve my problem....... I will be thankful to you guys if you please exaplain me the above queries:confused:.

Thankin you :D
Naveen

Mark
06-02-2009, 07:19 PM
Hi Naveen,

You might need to be a bit more specific with your first question. Do you want to find out about how to develop a predictive model using Weka? Or how to deploy a predictive model once you've learned one that meets requirements? Or perhaps, how to write a new learning algorithm in the Weka framework?

Cross-validation is a statistical technique that estimates the performance of a learning scheme on fresh data when you have limited training data. Normally, if you have plenty of data, you'd set aside some of it in a hold out set to evaluate the performance of your learning algorithm. When you have limited data, cross-validation can make the most of your data by dividing it up into k distinct chunks (folds) and using each fold in turn to evaluate the model that has been learned using the remaining k-1 folds. The performance over the k test folds is averaged to give an estimate of how well the scheme will perform on new (as yet unseen) data.