PDA

View Full Version : Creating metadata in 3.5



codek
09-08-2009, 07:41 AM
Hi,

This feature is excellent, i like it a lot.

I wonder, is it possible to export a platform created metadata resource and either import it into the metadata editor, or move it to another platform?

In particular, once we go to production, if people create production metadata models and have problems we need to reproduce them in-house, so we'll need to drag them back down to our test system.

Thanks,
Dan

wgorman
09-09-2009, 09:59 AM
Hi Dan,

Glad you like the new data access UIs. We do have plans to allow editing of these new models in the metadata editor, but we haven't yet tackled that. If you'd like to transition a model from one BI Server to another, that is possible.

You would need to copy the system/metadata/domains/.xml file you are interested in into the other system, and then refresh the metadata repository. If there is a csv file related to the model, you would also need to copy the system/metadata/csvfiles/.csv file over.

The JDBC based models reference the connection name defined in the pentaho connections list, so as long as your other BI Platforms have those defined the models should continue to work.

Hope that helps,

Will

codek
09-09-2009, 10:00 AM
excellent, thanks Will!