PDA

View Full Version : Calculated column not working in Pentaho 3.5

pthoutam
11-09-2009, 05:44 PM
Hi, I have created few Calculated columns and deployed the metadata ad-hoc model onto Server, this works fine in 3.0 version of Pentaho Enterprise. When I tried deployed the same ad-hoc model onto new 3.5 the calculated column in not working and instead its just grouping by. IS this a known issue or if somebody knew how to fix this please let me know.

Thanks,

Praneeth

wgorman
11-10-2009, 12:11 AM
Hi Praneeth,

Could you provide an example XMI file or describe the formula? There were a couple of subtle changes from 3.0 to 3.5 related to formulas but it should still all be backwards compatible.

Thanks,

Will

pthoutam
11-10-2009, 11:05 AM
Thanks for your reply! Basically I am new to this tool. So correct me if I am wrong.

The formula is pretty basic. The table schema is like this

ProductName RequestCount RequestDate

Apple 3 2009-10-01
Apple 4 2009-10-02
Apple 6 2009-10-09

I have created SUM(RequestCount) column in the ad-hoc model. So When in create an adhoc report in the user console, I can select product name and total requests for a certain time range. This works pretty fine in 3.0, but when I try the same in 3.5, it is grouping on product name but not doing the sum. So, in this instance, when I ask total request Count, it returns 1 . Makes Sense?

wgorman
11-10-2009, 11:14 AM
Do you have Aggregation Type set to SUM? If you provide me with your XMI file, I can debug it more fully.

Thanks!

Will

pthoutam
11-10-2009, 11:44 AM
Yes - I did set the aggregation type to SUM, its working in 3.0. Here's the xmi file. I actually gave an example scenario in the previous post. Here in this xmi file please find the business model Price requests.

wgorman
11-10-2009, 12:02 PM