Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: About performance: Multiple copies of outputs, commit size, etc...

Default About performance: Multiple copies of outputs, commit size, etc...

so, basically, is there a smart way to check what's the optimal configuration, instead of trial and error attempts messing with all those configurations?

Like, now I'm getting a ridiculously low mark of 70 reg/sec using 3 copies of a Table output step, to an SQL server, with 700 of commit size.
    Join us on IRC! =)

Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

Do a ping to the SQL Server machine, divide 1000 by the ping value. That would be the maximal throughput if you're on a high latency network.
    That's the sort of thing you can do to see what's going on.
    Or disable the Table Output step to see if it's not another step in your transformation that's slow.

hm... maybe this could help with suggestions...

this is the transformation:

this is the step metrics when it begins:

and this is when it ends:

that "Set Variables" is floating there because I'm running this transformation standalone as a test. it's part of a job, where I need the rowcount to be set as a variable...

Tried disabling outputs and got this, when starting...

and it finished with 15 minutes. 15 minutes. I feel like I'm doing something very wrong at the output...
    Last edited by joao.ciocca; 08-21-2012 at 05:39 PM.
    Join us on IRC! =)