Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Few basic questions on pentaho for newbies

Default Few basic questions on pentaho for newbies

Hi All,

I am new to open source ETL community and had been working extensively with other ETL tools like informatica , Datstage etc.

For my new job I am doing a feasibility analysis for building data warehouse for the firm. Its a start-up company so being tight on budget I have been asked to explore the open source ETL tools. I have been exploring pentaho PDI for the same and got couple of questions for it. Hoping someone pro with it might be able to help . The idea is to use PDI alone only and reporting is not priority for now.

1. Other then support what are the feature which EE and CE are differing on. What I understand from comparison is most of the basic features of PDI are there in both EE and CE. Please point out if my comparison is wrong or I am missing on something

2. How is scheduling and monitoring working in PDI. I understand in CE there is no integration of the scheduler with PDI.

3. How does deployment process works in PDI ?

4. Do all developers need to install pentaho server on there local machine to do the development work or there is client also avlaible for CE which can be simply installed on devlopers machine and dev work can be done using that client.

5. What are the advantages /disadvantages of using file based repository and data base repository in pentaho CE.

6. Last but not the least how much will it cost (on Avearge) for the most basic license of pentaho EE .

Any pointers on above are appreciated.

1. Extra in EE: the enterprise repository (including fine-grained security, revisions of jobs & transformations, etc), scheduling and a few extra steps like JMS. Soon also a logging/monitoring dashboard.