Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Memory issues using Mondrian 3.3.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Memory issues using Mondrian 3.3.0

    We recently upgraded our version of mondrian to 3.3 from 3.2.1 and we are having memory issues.

    After dumping the heap and inspecting it. I see a ton of mondrian.server.Locus and SQLStatement objects that aren't being released after forcing GCs. The build up is happening in a hashMap maintained by the Execution Object. Many of the sql statments appear to be running sql statements like the following "select count(*) as co from sometable". Eventually, tenured Memory fills up and we have to restart our servers.

    We are using the SchemaReader along with the withLocus() call. According to the docs it looks like the SchemaReader is deprecated in favor of olap4j -- too bad we didn't see that earlier. Should we stop using SchemaReader altogether?

    Would enabling the NotificationMemoryMonitor help with this situation? I noticed that turning that on would set a value on Execution that would clear out the Locus Statement HashMap.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I think I found the issue. In AggStar.java. Execution.NONE is being used and what happens is the Locus get registered with NONE but the statements are never released since NONE is static.

    SqlStatement stmt =
    RolapUtil.executeQuery(
    dataSource,
    query.toString(),
    new Locus(
    Execution.NONE,
    "AggStar.FactTable.makeNumberOfRows",
    "Counting rows in aggregate table"));

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    142

    Default

    This is fixed in our next release. Stay tuned for 3.5.0.
    Luc Boudreau
    aka. Luc le Magnifique
    aka. Monsieur Oui Oui

    Lead Engineer, Pentaho Corporation
    Web: http://devdonkey.blogspot.com
    Twitter: luclemagnifique
    IRC: Monsieur_Oui_Oui@freenode

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Luc,

    Thanks! Do you have an ETA on 3.5?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Luc,

    Do you guys have a jira tracking number for this issue?

    Thanks,

    A

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.