Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Advice for syncing Salesforce and MySQL

Question Advice for syncing Salesforce and MySQL

Hi there - I'm new to Kettle, so apologies if the answer to this is obvious.

My situation is that I need to periodically (say once a day) sync data in Salesforce with data in our existing MySQL db - changes in the one need to be propagated to the other. The schemas for the tables in question are different. We can handle any (very unlikely) conflicts manually, just so long as we know that they exist.

I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas on the best approach for me to take? Can Kettle do this out of the box, or will there be extra steps in the process? I had thought about using triggers in Salesforce and MySQL to keep track of the changesets in each db in a separate table, and then comparing the differences (using Merge Rows?), but thought there must be a better way.

Does anyone have any ideas? Any help would be much appreciated - thanks.
    Last edited by Sammo; 09-25-2012 at 10:19 AM.

I doubt if there is any single correct answer to this without better understanding your needs. We use Kettle to synchronize our Salesforce customer and product tables to MySQL each day. Our approach is very simple--the tables are not especially large, so we read the entire table and apply updates to a Type 1 dimension (Dimension lookup/update). This automatically creates rows if they do not exist, and updates rows if needed.

If you have too much data in Salesforce to process all, you might be able to pull it by date range instead.

Quote Originally Posted by jsturm View Post