Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Table input metadata trouble

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default Table input metadata trouble

    so, I have this table input which reads from SQL giving me a number field and an empty string field. Then, with switch, depending on the number, I use set field value to a certain string... or so I wanted to, 'cause when I try to run, I get this error:


    Code:
    Set field value to a constant.0 - ERROR : Error in step : 
    Set field value to a constant.0 - ERROR : field1 String<binary-string> : There was a data type error: the data type of java.lang.String object [string1] does not correspond to value meta [String<binary-string>]
    Set field value to a constant 2.0 - ERROR : Error in step : 
    Set field value to a constant 2.0 - ERROR : field1 String<binary-string> : There was a data type error: the data type of java.lang.String object [string2] does not correspond to value meta [String<binary-string>]
    Set field value to a constant 4.0 - ERROR : Error in step : 
    Set field value to a constant 4.0 - ERROR : field1 String<binary-string> : There was a data type error: the data type of java.lang.String object [string3] does not correspond to value meta [String<binary-string>]
    Set field value to a constant 3.0 - ERROR : Error in step : 
    Set field value to a constant 3.0 - ERROR : field1 String<binary-string> : There was a data type error: the data type of java.lang.String object [string4] does not correspond to value meta [String<binary-string>]

    Putting a "Select values" after the input, "changing" type from field to String won't do anything.
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Instead of selecting the empty string (ie. ''), what happens if you select a space (ie. ' ') and then do a NullIf?
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez View Post
    Instead of selecting the empty string (ie. ''), what happens if you select a space (ie. ' ') and then do a NullIf?
    Code:
    Null if....0 - ERROR : Unexpected error
    Null if....0 - ERROR : java.lang.RuntimeException: Unable to verify if [de_conta String<binary-string>] is null or not because of an error:java.lang.ClassCastException: java.lang.String cannot be cast to [B
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	at org.pentaho.di.core.row.ValueMeta.isNull(ValueMeta.java:2863)
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	at org.pentaho.di.core.row.ValueMeta.compare(ValueMeta.java:2898)
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	at org.pentaho.di.trans.steps.nullif.NullIf.processRow(NullIf.java:98)
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	at org.pentaho.di.trans.step.RunThread.run(RunThread.java:50)
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
    Null if....0 - ERROR : Caused by: java.lang.ClassCastException: java.lang.String cannot be cast to [B
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	at org.pentaho.di.core.row.ValueMeta.isNull(ValueMeta.java:2838)
    Null if....0 - ERROR : 	... 4 more
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    found the problem: "Enable lazy conversion". With that off, no problems show.
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Submit a JIRA.
    The Set Field to Constant should auto-convert from Lazy to Not..
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    JIRA created
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    just noted now how many problems this Lazy Data causes... O_o
    http://jira.pentaho.com/issues/?jql=...0conversion%22

    Jens mentions on this JIRA http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-5516 that it'll be ok only on 5.0 now...
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    I usually get more than a few funny looks when I hear about data issues and my first comment is "Turn Lazy Conversion OFF!"
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.