Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: The repository specified was not found

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    276

    Default The repository specified was not found

    Hi All,

    Got Following error while calling an PDI job from xaction.

    2013-05-28 10:58:01,518 ERROR [org.pentaho.platform.plugin.action.kettle.KettleComponent] 5d0f4508-c757-11e2-bbb4-c38e9b8c0184:COMPONENT:context-1335873118-1369718881190:Top_defaultes.xactionKettle.ERROR_0004 - The repository specified was not found (MyRepo)

    I did change to settings.xml file. but cannot find the possible way to make this work.


    Settings.xml file

    <kettle-repository>

    <!-- The values within <properties> are passed directly to the Kettle Pentaho components. -->

    <!-- This is the location of the Kettle repositories.xml file, leave empty if the default is used: $HOME/.kettle/repositories.xml -->
    <repositories.xml.file></repositories.xml.file>

    <repository.type>rdbms</repository.type>

    <!-- The name of the repository to use -->
    <repository.name>MyRepo</repository.name>

    <!-- The name of the repository user -->
    <repository.userid>Myname</repository.userid>

    <!-- The password -->
    <repository.password>Mypass</repository.password>

    </kettle-repository>




    i found few posts related to PDI jobs calling from xaction but not such helpful.!
    help is highly appreciated ..!!!



    Thanks,
    Surya

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Can some1 help me , to enable my BI server to find kettle repository settings.


    Thanks,
    Surya

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    276

    Default

    do any one following this ..?????

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Give more information about this issue,
    which version of Kettle and BI Server is used, which database, show the content of repositories.xml, action sequence file.

    Try this checklist which I posted in my blog, and tell us results:
    In Spoon menu, go to Tools -> Repository -> Connect. Choose the repository you have created. Enter user name and password.
    1. Verify that in settings.xml you entered same values to repository.name, repository.userid and repository.password.
    2. Connect to repository. Verify that you able to connect to it.

    Now, go to Tools -> Repository -> Explore. Find the job you need to run.
    3. Verify that in xaction you have entered same directory and job names. On my local environment I've put that job in a folder, so I'm not sure if running from root folder will work.

    4. Open repositories.xml in text or xml editor, and verify that it's have description of yours repository.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Hi vasili,

    I have gone through you blog,this is really help full.

    Q:-which version of Kettle and BI Server is used
    Ans:- pentaho 4.5.0 GA (4.5.0 GA Suite Release)
    Q :- which database
    ans:- mysql
    Q:- show the content of repositories.xml
    ans <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <repository> <id>PentahoEnterpriseRepository</id>
    <name>Local</name>
    <description>Local</description>
    <repository_location_url>http://localhost:9080/pentaho-di</repository_location_url>
    <version_comment_mandatory>N</version_comment_mandatory>
    </repository> </repositories>


    Q:- action sequence file.
    Ans :- <actions>
    <action-definition>
    <component-name>KettleComponent</component-name>
    <action-type>Pentaho Data Integration Job</action-type>
    <action-resources/>
    <action-outputs>
    <kettle-execution-log type="string" mapping="output_log"/>
    <kettle-execution-status type="string" mapping="output_status"/>
    </action-outputs>
    <component-definition>
    <directory><=!=[=C=D=A=T=A=[/home/joe/Demo]=]=></directory>
    <job><=!=[=C=D=A=T=A=[Test]=]=></job>
    <kettle-logging-level><=!=[=C=D=A=T=A=[debug]=]=></kettle-logging-level>
    </component-definition>
    </action-definition>


    </actions>


    Q:- 1. Verify that in settings.xml you entered same values to repository.name, repository.userid and repository.password.
    ans :- yes , repository.name, repository.userid and repository.password values are same and correct , i can connect to spoon using specified credentials .

    q:- Now, go to Tools -> Repository -> Explore. Find the job you need to run.
    Yes i can find my job through explore (spoon GUI)

    Q:- Open repositories.xml in text or xml editor, and verify that it's have description of yours repository.
    yes my repositories.xml file has repository name

    While you defining repository connection in Spoon, it saves database information to file .kettle\repositories.xml in your user home directory from your blog
    what version of pentaho are you using.?


    we have 2 different file in .kettle(Home directory) folder .
    1) kettle.properties this save DB connection information
    2) repository.xml file this save repository details,URL .

    share can you please share your repositories.xml file , setting.xml file and xaction .

    thanks for your help,
    Surya
    Last edited by surya.thanuri; 05-29-2013 at 06:14 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I've implemented this feature in 3.6 CE, and later upgraded to 4.5 CE, so it works in both versions. But I left repositories.xml and other files unchanged since 3.6. Here is how my repositories.xml looks (ip and some other things changed):


    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <repositories>
    <connection>
    <name>housekeeping</name>
    <server>191.263.100.64</server>
    <type>MYSQL</type>
    <access>Native</access>
    <database>kettle_repo</database>
    <port>3306</port>
    <username>my_user</username>
    <password>Encrypted asfdsfdsf3w3rfd434sfad7sdfsdaf33</password>
    <servername/>
    <data_tablespace/>
    <index_tablespace/>
    <attributes>
    <attribute><code>EXTRA_OPTION_MYSQL.defaultFetchSize</code><attribute>500</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>EXTRA_OPTION_MYSQL.useCursorFetch</code><attribute>true</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>FORCE_IDENTIFIERS_TO_LOWERCASE</code><attribute>N</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>FORCE_IDENTIFIERS_TO_UPPERCASE</code><attribute>N</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>IS_CLUSTERED</code><attribute>N</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>PORT_NUMBER</code><attribute>3306</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>QUOTE_ALL_FIELDS</code><attribute>N</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>STREAM_RESULTS</code><attribute>Y</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>SUPPORTS_BOOLEAN_DATA_TYPE</code><attribute>N</attribute></attribute>
    <attribute><code>USE_POOLING</code><attribute>N</attribute></attribute>
    </attributes>
    </connection>
    <repository>
    <name>housekeeping</name>
    <description>housekeeping</description>
    <connection>housekeeping</connection>
    </repository>
    </repositories>


    See, and this name should much with name in settings.xml: <repository.name>housekeeping</repository.name>

    However your's repositories.xml looks different, are you trying to connect to Pentaho Data Integration Server which is a part of enterprise edition? Because My approach works in regular Cummunity Edition.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    276

    Default

    thanks for the reply, will try to find a way to get this work on enterprise edition ..!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    276

    Default Have a copy of repositories.xml file @ home directory ,@ pentaho installation directo

    Hi all,

    with some work around i could make this work , These are the changes that i did ..!! This worked for me using trail and error method, but not sure why this worked, why do we need to mention repositories.xml file under Installation directory than users/home directory ..? how pentaho would have internally validated this repositories.xml file at installation directory ,can some one help me to understand this..? thanks in advance..!!


    Solution:-

    move repositories.xml file under C:\Users\*NAME*\.kettle folder to your .kettle folder under Pentaho Installation directory(i.e, C) .
    ex:- C:\Program Files\pentaho\server\************ in this example your installation directory would be C. so find and place in .kettle folder under C.



    Cheers,
    Surya

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.