Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Difficulty with data validation - please help?

Question Difficulty with data validation - please help?

Hello all!

I'm a new/jr DBA and I am working on a quick project that I'm having difficulty with. I want to add a step in some of our existing transformations to validate that the input dates are valid and in range (e.g. 07/25/2009 is fine but 07/25/2100 is not). I was looking around on the 'net and found that I can use Regex with the Data Validation step for this aspect so I created the following expression (for dates between 1900 and 2099):
    ^((((0?[13578])|(1[02]))[- \/ .]?(([0-2][0-9])|(3[01])))|(((0?[469])|(11))[- \/ .]?(([0-2][0-9])|(30)))|(0?2[- \/ .]?[0-2][0-9]))[- \/ .]?((19|20)?\d{2})$

(I tested the expression itself on http://rubular.com/ and it seems to be doing what I need.) Unfortunately, the expression does not fail for any of the Excel dates - even ones that I made to specifically be out of range to ensure a failure. The dates are in the Excel spreadsheet in a numeric mm/dd/yyyy format. For the Excel input, I had it import the fields from the header row and Pentaho did correctly determine the data type for each field. I've attached screenshots from the Data Validation and Excel Input steps. the Data Validation step goes to a "fail" Dummy step and a "pass" Dummy Step.

Pentaho version is 4.2.1-GA. Files are xlsx files (and this is indicated in the Excel input step, although I did not take a screenshot of that).
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by qanx; 06-13-2013 at 12:17 PM. Reason: typo

Bring a test transformation and we'll make it behave.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

I made a smaller XLS file that only has two columns (the date and an ID field). Both the KTR and XLS files are attached. I removed the XLS path from the Excel input because I figured you guys would save the XLS wherever. Thank you!
    Attached Files Attached Files