Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Insert a String in a Clob

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Exclamation Insert a String in a Clob

    Hi to All

    I'm Trying to insert a string in my Oracle database but the field is a clob and the insert return this error

    ORA-00932: inconsistent datatypes: expected - got CLOB

    there is a way to convert this string to a clob before the insert?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    It should work just fine. You probably need to swap your JDBC driver or something.
    Oracle can be mysterious in that dept.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    After your anser i tryied a several drivers but no one work and in sql developer it work fine, i dion't know what i have to do to correct this problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    If you would be using still v9 of Oracle, you need the drivers of Oracle 10.

    Regards,
    Sven

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Thumbs down

    No i'm using oracle 10, but nothing is working

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Do what you have to do: file a bug report, attach more information about your problem, your configuration etc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default solve the problem

    Quote Originally Posted by gersonapollo View Post
    No i'm using oracle 10, but nothing is working

    i meet the same problem too.clob to clob and the source is subbed.
    and my environment is:
    sourceracle 10g 10.2.1
    targetracle 10g 10.2.1
    kettle:ce4.2.0
    when the length of clob > 9999999,the data will be subbed.
    i changed my oracle jar,but it's not work.
    and i spend a day to solve the problem.
    i think it is kettle's problem,type conversion problem.

    one way to solve the problem is :
    you can use javascript component like this:
    [var stuff_sring = new java.lang.String(STUFF);]
    and then mapping the converted data to target database.

    my english is no good,if you can't understand the above,you can email to me.
    awenzhangc@gmiall.com
    Wuxi Jiangsu China

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Please don't re-use 5 year old threads, start a new one please!
    Please explain what you mean by "subbed", it's unclear. Try to share more transformation details in a new thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.