Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pentaho BI Server on Windows 8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default Pentaho BI Server on Windows 8

    Can someone point me to the direction of a how-to or guide on installing and using the BI Server on a Windows 8 machine? I'm not too familiar with using the Command Prompt or the Pentaho program itself at all. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    609

    Default

    Hi,

    welcome to the Pentaho-Forums.
    Installing the BI-platform is easy:
    a) make sure you have a Java-Runtime (version 6 or 7) installed
    b) download and unzip the platform-distribution from: http://sourceforge.net/projects/pent...ence%20Server/
    c) double-click the "start-pentaho.bat"

    Wait a few moments, then point your browser to http://localhost:8080

    Maybe you will then need some more client-tools to design your reports/cubes... so either download the "PRD" (Pentaho Report Designer) from Sourceforge
    or maybe the schema-workbench: http://sourceforge.net/projects/mond...a%20workbench/

    Best regards,

    Tom

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I will give that a try. thank you very much.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Tom's right, nothing special is needed for running. And if you need CTools, this tutorial with cygwin works too. (even though i've been having some small problems since the latest update...)
    Join us on IRC! =)

    Twitter / Google+ / Timezone: BRT-BRST
    BI Server & PDI 5.4 / MS SQL 2012 / Learning CDE & CTools
    Windows 8 64-bit / Java 7 (jdk1.8.0_75)

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez
    PLEASE NOTE: No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.

    I'm no expert.Take my comments at your own risk.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    i tried a few times with a few dif version and no luck. Anymore ideas? Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    609

    Default

    Hi again,

    it would be helpful if you would provide details about what was going wrong during your tries.
    What kind of error messages did you see?

    We cannot read minds so we rely on information provided from you

    Best regards,

    Tom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,690

    Default

    Tom,

    I think you might have missed a step in your instructions:

    step a.1) ensure that JAVA_HOME is declared as a system-wide environment variable, pointing to your java install
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.