Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: How to create new file repository on Linux with command line interface

Default How to create new file repository on Linux with command line interface

Hello,
    We are working on Windows 7, with the newest Kettle 4.4.0. Everything is working fine with our jobs, but now we have to use them on Linux and on a command line version. Unfortunately I have no experience with Linux.

We are using File repository, and as I expected, I cannot just copy the jobs and transformation on the Linux's kettle, I have to make a new repository and import the files as exported from the Windows version. I have found this link for the importing http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/...+Documentation, but nothing for making a new file repository from the command line interface.

My problem is that we have to work on Windows, and only run the jobs on the Linux server. So for now, "merging" from Windows to Linux should be a common thing (every week or so).

I'll be happy for any suggestions on my problem. May be there is a different way for exporting from Windows to Linux.

Thanks.

I see a three step process:

1. Create a directory in a suitable place on your Linux system using mkdir
    2. Register this directory as a file repository with Kettle using spoon
    3. Deploy your jobs and transactions from Windows to Linux

PS:
    In case nobody has access to spoon on the server, you can modify repositories.xml directly.
    If you don't feel comfortable with sed and the like, you can use your local spoon and transfer the XML file.
    Last edited by marabu; 10-03-2013 at 12:51 PM.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Thank you for the reply!
    We've followed the instructions but we still can't register a directory as a file repository in Linux.
    Can someone give some advice how to do this?

What we've done so far is:
    1. Created a new directory to be used as a file repository.