Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Error running kitchen.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default Error running kitchen.

    Hi guys, having a problem with Kitchen in linux.

    This is what i did.

    1) downloaded the 4.4.0 ce zip
    2) Unzipped in /opt/data-integration
    3) created a folder /opt/data-integration/.kettle and copied repositories.xml in there
    4) created a folder /opt/data-integration/etl-repo and copied all the jobs and transformations + repository.xml inside
    5) executed . /opt/data-integration/kitchen.sh -rep=kf -file=/opt/data-integration/etl-repo/my_job.kjb -level=Minimal
    Got this:

    dirname: invalid option -- 'b'
    Try `dirname --help' for more information.
    -bash: /root/set-pentaho-env.sh: No such file or directory
    dirname: invalid option -- 'b'
    Try `dirname --help' for more information.
    find: `/libext': No such file or directory
    find: `/libext': No such file or directory
    Error: Could not find or load main class org.pentaho.di.kitchen.Kitchen

    Anyone have any idea what's missing?

    Thanks

    Daniel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    Try

    cd /opt/data-integration
    . kitchen.sh ...

    to make sure everything is complete.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,690

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dbaubeta View Post
    5) executed . /opt/data-integration/kitchen.sh -rep=kf -file=/opt/data-integration/etl-repo/my_job.kjb -level=Minimal
    executing shell scripts isn't done with ". <scriptname>" but rather "./<scriptname>" or "/full/path/to/<scriptname>"

    try using either:
    Code:
    /opt/data-integration/kitchen.sh -rep=kf -file=/opt/data-integration/etl-repo/my_job.kjb -level=Minimal
    or
    Code:
    cd /opt/data-integration/
    ./kitchen.sh -rep=kf -file=/opt/data-integration/etl-repo/my_job.kjb -level=Minimal
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez View Post
    executing shell scripts isn't done with ". <scriptname>" but rather "./<scriptname>" or "/full/path/to/<scriptname>"
    Well, it depends, gutlez.

    OP wanted to start kitchen in the active shell, while you would start a subshell.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thanks for the reply guys.

    I started diving into the scripts. The problem is a line in the set-pentaho-env.sh

    DIR_REL=`dirname $0`;
    cd $DIR_REL;

    dirname is not working. It supposedly gets the directory for the current scriptname ($0 does that)

    For some reason it's giving that error.

    What I did to solve this, in a very rudimentary way is comment that line and assign the directory manually to the DIR_REL variable.
    DIR_REL="/opt/myfolder"

    Of course it's not a fix, but more of a workaround.

    Don't have a clue why this does not work.

    I wanted to put the "solution" here, in case someone had the same issue.

    Daniel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,690

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marabu View Post
    Well, it depends, gutlez.

    OP wanted to start kitchen in the active shell, while you would start a subshell.
    We'll have to save that debate for another forum...
    Because the script is being interpreted, rather than executed, $0 refers to bash, as that is the shell that is running, which is why dirname won't work. if OP used "./<scriptname>" instead of ". <scriptname>", it would have referred to the script, and dirname would have worked.
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.