Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: BTable - A drill-anywhere component for CDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default BTable - A drill-anywhere component for CDE

    Hi Pentaho and CTools fans,
    today we have released BTable, a new component for CDE that we presented at PCM13 in Sintra last 5th October.
    We have submitted the plugin to the Pentaho marketplace for approval and we hope it will be soon available on it.
    Every BTable resource is available at http://www.biztech.it/btable.
    Have fun with BTable!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    BTable is on the Pentaho marketplace!
    Try it and post your comments, suggestions or problems in this forum.

    Luca

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Hi,
    I would like to try this component.
    How do I install it into my pentaho-ctools installation folder?
    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dadapenta View Post
    Hi,
    I would like to try this component.
    How do I install it into my pentaho-ctools installation folder?
    Thank you.
    Hi dadapenta,
    there are 2 ways to install BTable plugin:

    1) from marketplace (in PUC open Tools -> Marketplace; if you haven't the marketplace installed see http://pedroalves-bi.blogspot.it/201...e-is-here.html and http://pedroalves-bi.blogspot.it/201...installer.html)

    or

    2) download BTable zip file from http://sourceforge.net/projects/btable/ and then unzip it in your pentaho-solutions/system directory; finally restart your BI server.

    Once installed, you'll find the BTable item in Tools submenu (clicking on it you'll open a UI to create data sources for BTable and play with a sample dashboard) and the BTable component in the list of components in CDE.

    Bye

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Is it possible to translate the ui of this component? For example, instead of "Filter" y want it to read "Filtro" (in spanish)

    Thanks a lot for this wonderfull component!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hardwired View Post
    Is it possible to translate the ui of this component? For example, instead of "Filter" y want it to read "Filtro" (in spanish)

    Thanks a lot for this wonderfull component!
    Hi hardwired,
    I'm happy you like it!

    Internationalization and localization are the next step in our roadmap.
    At present you can manually modify those labels in component's javascript files.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Ok, anyway a great component!

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hardwired View Post
    Ok, anyway a great component!

    Thanks!
    Hi to all, I tried using BTable, it works with SampleData but when i tried to use it in for other schemas, I got an [object Object] error. This happens when I type the name of the cube in the Cube field.

    Do I need to set up a configuration file or something?

    Thanks for any help or suggestion that you can give

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi,
    I download BTable from sourceforge & Pentaho BA Server 5.01 CE stable and I decompress BTable on ......./biserver-ce/pentaho-solutions/system.
    I build first part of BTable example, when execute it appears the next error in log:
    2013-12-07 13:53:32,175 ERROR [pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall] 'BTable.api' bean not found in BTable
    2013-12-07 13:53:32,176 ERROR [pt.webdetails.cdf.dd.datasources.DataSourceProvider] null
    java.lang.NullPointerException
    at pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall.run(InterPluginCall.java:200)
    at pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall.call(InterPluginCall.java:348)
    at pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall.call(InterPluginCall.java:67)
    ....
    ....
    ....
    ....
    Any idea?


    A lot of thanks for great a component!


    regards


    Mariano

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magap01 View Post
    Hi to all, I tried using BTable, it works with SampleData but when i tried to use it in for other schemas, I got an [object Object] error. This happens when I type the name of the cube in the Cube field.

    Do I need to set up a configuration file or something?

    Thanks for any help or suggestion that you can give
    Hi magap01,
    probably the name of the cube you typed was not correct. Write it without square brackets and pay attention to blank spaces.
    Let me know if the issue remains. Thanks

    Luca

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magm View Post
    Hi,
    I download BTable from sourceforge & Pentaho BA Server 5.01 CE stable and I decompress BTable on ......./biserver-ce/pentaho-solutions/system.
    I build first part of BTable example, when execute it appears the next error in log:
    2013-12-07 13:53:32,175 ERROR [pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall] 'BTable.api' bean not found in BTable
    2013-12-07 13:53:32,176 ERROR [pt.webdetails.cdf.dd.datasources.DataSourceProvider] null
    java.lang.NullPointerException
    at pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall.run(InterPluginCall.java:200)
    at pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall.call(InterPluginCall.java:348)
    at pt.webdetails.cpf.InterPluginCall.call(InterPluginCall.java:67)
    ....
    ....
    ....
    ....
    Any idea?


    A lot of thanks for great a component!


    regards


    Mariano
    Hi Mariano,
    you have to wait for the new BTable version (for Pentaho 5) that will be released in few days.
    Bye
    Luca

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lukolap View Post
    Hi magap01,
    probably the name of the cube you typed was not correct. Write it without square brackets and pay attention to blank spaces.
    Let me know if the issue remains. Thanks

    Luca
    hi luca,

    thanks for replying, well, i did that so many times before i post this problem, the cube name is correct, no brackets and spaces, i tried this too with the other schemas i made but still got the same error.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magap01 View Post
    hi luca,

    thanks for replying, well, i did that so many times before i post this problem, the cube name is correct, no brackets and spaces, i tried this too with the other schemas i made but still got the same error.
    Which version of CDE is installed in your system?

    Try to launch this url in your browser, replacing parts in bold with your values:

    http://localhost:8080/pentaho/conten...alog=solution:yourMondrianSchemaPath&cube=yourCubeName

    (for example, if you use a Mondrian schema located in pentaho-solutions/A/B/C/MS.xml, yourMondrianSchemaPath = A/B/C/MS.xml).

    What's returned?
    If your values are correct you should see a json with "status": "true" and the cube structure as "result".
    Last edited by lukolap; 12-09-2013 at 06:23 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lukolap View Post
    Which version of CDE is installed in your system?

    Try to launch this url in your browser, replacing parts in bold with your values:

    http://localhost:8080/pentaho/conten...alog=solution:yourMondrianSchemaPath&cube=yourCubeName

    (for example, if you use a Mondrian schema located in pentaho-solutions/A/B/C/MS.xml, yourMondrianSchemaPath = A/B/C/MS.xml).

    What's returned?
    If your values are correct you should see a json with "status": "true" and the cube structure as "result".
    Hi lukolap,

    CDE: Installed version: v13.09.10 Your version is up to date

    json returned values: {"status": "false"}

    The schema / cube I used is rendered by saiku analytics correctly, and i made this schema using schema workbench (v3.5.0). I am also using pentaho bi sever 4.8.0.

    Thanks,
    magap01

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magap01 View Post
    Hi lukolap,

    CDE: Installed version: v13.09.10 Your version is up to date

    json returned values: {"status": "false"}

    The schema / cube I used is rendered by saiku analytics correctly, and i made this schema using schema workbench (v3.5.0). I am also using pentaho bi sever 4.8.0.

    Thanks,
    magap01
    Hi magap01,

    can you see the cube name in the json returned by http://localhost:8080/pentaho/conten...n=GetOlapCubes ?

    I'd need to see your case. If you want, you can send me a copy of your Mondrian schema and your dashboard with the BTable (I mean the cdfde file).

    Thank you,

    Luca

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lukolap View Post
    Hi Mariano,
    you have to wait for the new BTable version (for Pentaho 5) that will be released in few days.
    Bye
    Luca
    Hi lukolap,
    I'm also interested in BTable,
    but realized that it's not yet listed on Marketplace. (5.0.1 CE)
    While I wondering, I saw your comment above.
    So is it not available on Marketplace because it's not released for pentaho 5?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chogo0722 View Post
    Hi lukolap,
    I'm also interested in BTable,
    but realized that it's not yet listed on Marketplace. (5.0.1 CE)
    While I wondering, I saw your comment above.
    So is it not available on Marketplace because it's not released for pentaho 5?
    Hi chogo0722,
    you'll see BTable on Pentaho 5 Marketplace very soon

    Luca

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lukolap View Post
    Hi chogo0722,
    you'll see BTable on Pentaho 5 Marketplace very soon

    Luca
    Thanks so much,
    I'm looking forward to it.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hardwired View Post
    Is it possible to translate the ui of this component? For example, instead of "Filter" y want it to read "Filtro" (in spanish)
    Now it's possible in BTable 1.5 (also for Pentaho 5.0).

    To translate the component UI in your language:

    1. go to pentaho-solutions/system/BTable/resources/components/BTable/lang
    2. make a copy of messages.properties and rename it as messages_xx.properties (where xx is your language code)
    3. edit this file translating the values of properties


    If you also want to contribute to BTable project providing your translation, make a pull request to https://github.com/biztech-it/BTable or send me your file.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default Bug workaround

    In Pentaho 4.x, BTable doesn't work if the catalog you want to use has this definition in system/olap/datasources.xml :

    <Catalog name="yourCatalog">
    <DataSourceInfo>Provider=mondrian;DataSource=yourDatasource</DataSourceInfo>
    <Definition>solution:/yourSolution/yourPath/yourMondrianSchema.xml</Definition>
    </Catalog>

    You need to remove the / in red:

    <Catalog name="yourCatalog">
    <DataSourceInfo>Provider=mondrian;DataSource=yourDatasource</DataSourceInfo>
    <Definition>solution:yourSolution/yourPath/yourMondrianSchema.xml</Definition>
    </Catalog>

    This is probably the cause of the problem posted by magap01
    Last edited by lukolap; 01-17-2014 at 07:21 AM.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi ,

    Btable plugin is real awesome, it has many features which lot of projects are required, I want to use this plugin in one of my html project, Please let me know is it possible to use if yes how to use this.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    BTable lives over Pentaho and CTools. I think it would be a very hard task to isolate it from this context.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.