Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Help regarding using Row normaliser in Data Integration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default Help regarding using Row normaliser in Data Integration

    Hi everyone,
    I have a table which looks like this:

    user_name time_user user_query
    ABC 1200 SELECT * from Orders
    XYZ 1500 SELECT * from Customers

    Now, I am trying to make it look like this:

    ABC
    1200
    SELECT * from Orders
    XYZ
    1500
    SELECT * from Customers

    Any idea where I can do it in Data Integration? I fiddled with Row normaliser but it doesn't look that it would be of much use. Please guide.

    Regards,
    Amit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    Hi.
    Row Normaliser should be perfect for your example.
    Have you configure it correctly?
    You can check the sample in data-integration/samples folder:
    data-integration\samples\transformations\Row Normaliser - turn a single row into 3 rows.ktr

    or Row Normalizer - Simple example.ktr
    -- Mick --

  3. #3

    Default

    HI,

    Hope attached will help you .



    Quote Originally Posted by amityy1185 View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I have a table which looks like this:

    user_name time_user user_query
    ABC 1200 SELECT * from Orders
    XYZ 1500 SELECT * from Customers

    Now, I am trying to make it look like this:

    ABC
    1200
    SELECT * from Orders
    XYZ
    1500
    SELECT * from Customers

    Any idea where I can do it in Data Integration? I fiddled with Row normaliser but it doesn't look that it would be of much use. Please guide.

    Regards,
    Amit
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks a lot. The attached file really helped.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mt25 View Post
    HI,

    Hope attached will help you .
    Hi, thanks for your help. In this regard, please help me with subsequent process.

    I have attached few screenshots ( of process, error and Text output plugin) for better reference. In the table input plugin, I have put my query which generates a structure like:

    user_name time_user user_query
    ABC 1200 SELECT * from Orders
    XYZ 1500 SELECT * from Customers

    Using the Select Values plugin, I am selecting the three fields - user_name, time_user and user_query.

    Then, I am using the same Row normaliser file.

    Now, it is giving me an error when I try to copy my output from Row normalizer to a text file where I intend to change my output to look like this:
    ABC
    1200
    SELECT * from Orders
    XYZ
    1500
    SELECT * from Customers

    What am I doing wrong here?

    Regards,
    amit
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    From the images it's impossible to read the error message!
    -- Mick --

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Mick,

    Here is the link to read the error message - https://www.dropbox.com/s/g02i3hgpkhrb5a4/error2.png. Please let me know if it continues to be a problem to read from the file. Thanks.

    Regards,
    Amit
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by amityy1185; 11-27-2013 at 06:26 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    I would run the transformation without the Modified Java Script and Mail steps.
    Check if you still have the same error and check that PDI creates a text file.
    When you run the transformation, you can always change the log level to Detailed to see if PDI gives you more info about the issue.
    -- Mick --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.