Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to enable Pentaho 5.0.1 log to hookup with Log4j logging?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default How to enable Pentaho 5.0.1 log to hookup with Log4j logging?

    Hi All,

    We were using pentaho kettle 4.0.1 until now and we are planning to migrate to Pentaho 5.0.1.

    We are using it in a web application and the log was earlier redirected to log4j but since from the current version , it is no longer using log 4j as a back end , we are not able to trace the log.

    Please give us some suggestions on what all new JARs have to be added and in what location to have a proper logging mechanism.

    Please help me as I googled many times but found nothing useful.

    thanks,
    Pradeep

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Just make sure you have the kettle5-log4j-plugin.jar.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hi Matt,

    Thanks for your reply. but do we need to add anything in addition to "kettle5-log4j-plugin.jar" , as even after adding the plugin , we are unable to see any difference. Whatever level of logging we set , it shows only INFO level.

    Though we made the changes in log4j.xml file.

    Please help me here

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    Hi.
    Don't know much about these things, but I would check for a log5j.xml and make changes in there.
    -- Mick --

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    For now, regrettably (for compatibility reasons), log4j.xml is still in kettle-engine.jar.

    That being said, you can build your own logging plugin if you like. Here is the way to do it yourself, it's just one class you have to write:

    https://github.com/pentaho/pentaho-k...4jLogging.java

    This means you can pipe the Kettle logging lines into your own log4j loggers and so forth.

    Cheers,
    Matt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hi Matt,

    Nothing seem to work. I tried everything but to no success.
    Got a question : If we are using log4j logging then, Is it still necessary to add log4j plugin to library ? Definitely , something else should be done to get correct logging
    Could you please help me.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Hi ,

    I tried Everything but nothing works , Can anyone please help me here ?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.