Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Kettle Validation Questions

Default Kettle Validation Questions

Hi. I'm a newbie with Pentaho but an experienced ETL/BI professional. I'm attempting to do a simple validation.
    My transformations are:
    1. A simple two steps transformation in order to load de CSV input file into a MySQL -all varchars- RAW table (it works)
    2. Then a second transformation to validate input Data Type. In this case I'm casting the input. It looks like this:

Name:  trans2.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  11.9 KB

The input is casted from the RAW (all varchars) table into the corresponding data types, like this:

SELECT ID_RAW, CAST( CONCAT( '20', SUBSTRING( trim( FECHAVTA ) , 7, 2 ) , '-',
    SUBSTRING( trim( FECHAVTA ) , 4, 2 ) , '-',
    SUBSTRING( trim( FECHAVTA ) , 1, 2 ) ) AS DATE ) AS FECHAVTA,
    cast(trim( ID_CLIENTE ) as signed) AS ID_CLIENTE,
    cast(trim( ID_PAISVTA ) as signed) AS ID_PAISVTA,
    cast(trim( NROSUCVTA ) as signed) AS NROSUCVTA,
    cast(trim( ID_ARTICULO) as signed) AS ID_ARTICULO,
    cast(trim( CANTIDAD ) as decimal(5)) AS CANTIDAD,
    cast(trim( PRECIOESPECIAL ) as decimal(7,2)) AS PRECIOESPECIAL
    FROM rawprueba1

Okay then, the validation step doesn´t work well because I checked the box "Validate Data Type" for every validation of every field. Using a correct file it takes the whole input file as in error inspite of I casted the input for all of them. At the same time if I uncheck all input is accepted disregarding that I entered some numeric data as alpha and the result set of input contains null values for those fields (however I marked he "Only numeric data is expected"

In short. what am I doing wrong? Kettel seems to be intuitive but in the end is full of tricks.

Can anybody help me please?

Thanks in advance,

Marcelo

Hi.
    It's better if you zip your transformation and you upload it here as attachment, so that someone can check your settings.