Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: excel can access mondrian cube

  1. #1

    Default excel can access mondrian cube

    I found this video on the internet ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eq_dE7_O3s ) where it is shown how to connect excel to a mondrian cube via XML/A .
    a comment from Jason Chu says that the code of mondrian has been modified to implement the functionality and is available to be inserted into the thrunk of mondrian .
    if anyone knows if this patch will be accepted or how to modify the code of mondrian, I would be very grateful if he would provide information about .
    thanks for any answer

  2. #2

    Default

    We're very interested in this functionality too.

    At the moment you can use SimbaOS2 (http://www.simba.com/connectors/simbao2x) but it requires installation and licensing etc.

    Jason originally posted to this thread: http://lists.pentaho.org/pipermail/m...ry/004757.html. Here is his reply http://lists.pentaho.org/pipermail/m...ry/004781.html

    So it appears several people are working on similar things.

    It would be great to have an update on progress of this. Our project is almost entirely about providing a data cube for Excel integration. At the moment it's between MS SSAS and Mondrian. If we know that we can resolve the Excel integration without installing clients everywhere then we'll lean heavily towards Mondrian.

    Peter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    796

    Default

    As mentioned in the dev thread you linked to, there has been some effort toward making Mondrian work with ADOMD.NET and Reporting Services, and these changes may bring us closer to working with Excel. My understanding is some of these changes will be brought into the Mondrian HEAD revision within a couple months. There's no assurances about Excel integration, however, and you wouldn't want to count on it.

    That said, any help anyone can offer in testing out Excel once these changes are in would certainly be appreciated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Is there a JIRA that we can subscribe to -- to know when we can start testing HEAD for these changes?
    NOTE: CE User here. NOT EE.
    Last edited by gutlez; 03-07-2014 at 08:50 PM.

  5. #5

    Default

    I sent an email to Lakshmi ( the author of the modifications that allow access from excel to the mondrian cubes ) .
    I asked him if he can make public its changes to the mondrian code .
    I also recompiled and tested the fork evergreen (https://github.com/tgf/mondrian/commits/evergreen) .
    It is a a branch of Mondrian with ADOMD.NET changes .
    However, using it does not work with excel .

  6. #6
    DEinspanjer Guest

    Default

    I am happy to dig into the ADOMD.NET support from the community side and help drive it into the production code line. After that, we can work on investigating what further changes are needed to support Excel. I don't know if there are JIRA issues for these two items, but that is definitely the first simple step.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Looks like the JIRA might be:
    http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/MONDRIAN-1836

  8. #8

    Default

    this issue seems even more suitable ( http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/MONDRIAN-1841 ) .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    MONDRIAN-1841 is blocked waiting for MONDRIAN-1836 ....

  10. #10
    DEinspanjer Guest

    Default

    There is work going on in services around the issue of ADOMD.NET and Excell. While it isn't currently part of any main development sprint, I think it is likely we could see advances here this spring.

  11. #11

    Default

    I found this project on sourceforge https://sourceforge.net/projects/xmlaconnect/ by Alexandra Iancu .
    I tested it on mondrian .
    I was able to make the connection , select a cube and perform a query with a single axis ( with two it goes wrong ) .
    the project is in alpha stage but ( for me ) look promising .

  12. #12

    Default

    I have to correct the last post .
    The ODBO driver written by Alexandra Iancu works perfectly ( i have installed an old version ) .
    The correct version to install are XMLA_Provider_v0.1.1.exe .

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by claudio.tamietto View Post
    I have to correct the last post .
    The ODBO driver written by Alexandra Iancu works perfectly ( i have installed an old version ) .
    The correct version to install are XMLA_Provider_v0.1.1.exe .
    Hi ...
    I was trying connect using that but i got always this message


    I think the config files was not ok but cant find where ... i m using mondrian on spagoBI 4.0, tomcat 6 excel 2013 oracle 11g DB
    that's my DataSourceInfo in datasource.xml
    Code:
    Provider=mondrian;Jdbc=jdbc:oracle:thin:user/pass@server:1521:sid;Catalog=D:/resources/Olap/mcdts.xml
    And that's on web.xml
    Code:
    <param-name>connectString</param-name>
          <param-value>Provider=mondrian;Jdbc=jdbc:oracle:thin:user/pass@server:1521:sid;JdbcDrivers=oracle.jdbc.OracleDriver;Catalog=D:/resources/Olap/mcdts.xml;</param-value>
    And that on mondrian.propreties
    Code:
    mondrian.test.connectString=Provider=Mondrian;Jdbc=jdbc:oracle:thin:user/pass@server:1521:sid;JdbcDrivers=oracle.jdbc.OracleDriver;Catalog=D:/resources/Olap/mcdts.xml;
    What i m doing wrong ?!

    Thanks in advance...

  14. #14

    Default

    I think that the url of the xmla datasource is not correct .
    I've never used SpagoBI and then I do not know how the server XMLA is exposed .
    I have the impression that SpagoBI JPXMLA Engine is not an XMLA server but a client that can connect to an external XMLA compliant server ( like mondrian ) .

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for the help ... i just instaled mondrian in a new tomcat server and got it working ... thanks for the help

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jotarada View Post
    Thanks for the help ... i just instaled mondrian in a new tomcat server and got it working ... thanks for the help
    Hi guys,

    I am trying to solve the same task: excel on top of mondrian.
    Can you sugest me what you did step by step in order to have excel and mondrian able to talk?

    Thans

    BR,
    Roberto

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by claudio.tamietto View Post
    this issue seems even more suitable ( http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/MONDRIAN-1841 ) .
    This Jira number is no longer visible for "regular" logins. I guess that means it's going EE only. :s

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Anyone from the Mondrian team going to comment on if/when this feature might see the light of day? Seems to be a pretty killer piece of functionality for probably not a lot of effort.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.