Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: How to resolve- could not find fields from previous steps. Check the Hops

Question How to resolve- could not find fields from previous steps. Check the Hops

Hello, I am new to kettle. I am trying to assign a constant to a field in the table output. I do not have any previous step for this add a constant step. when I try to verify the transformation , I am getting this error on this step . The transformation has multiple steps. For some fields in the table output, I have mappings defined with the fields from txt file. for some other fields , I have mappings defined with the look ups. The add a constant step returns null for show input step. so I am not sure why I am getting this error and how to resolve this. Please help.

Can you attach a sample transformation with this error?

I'm going to assume that you are a programmer.

I'm also going to assume that you are trying to point your incoming stream to your table output as well as having an Add Constants step pointing to your Table Output step. This is not how PDI works.

Think of PDI as a river.
    The river has to start somewhere (Table Input, Text File Input, other steps from the Input Folder)
    You can do things to the river (sort it, filter it, etc)
    The river should go somewhere (Table Output, Text File Output, other steps from Output Folder)

So if you want to add a constant to one field in your database, you need to do that in the "do things to the river" area... So between your Input step, and your output step, run it through your Add Constants step.

If this still isn't clear, post what you've done, and we'll try to guide you.

Thanks for the quick response. The river example is perfect. I am able to insert these add a constant steps in between the source and destination and not seeing this error any more. But I do have some other errors for missing fields . I have attached the transformation.
    Attached Files Attached Files