Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Need assatance creating reports from XML data

Default Need assatance creating reports from XML data

Hello everyone,

I am new to the Pentaho community. I am very interested in learning Kettle and the other great Pentaho products. I am currently working with XML data and would like to transform the XML file into both graphical and spreadsheet type data. I been self teaching myself Kettle as well as learning about XML. I am currently trying to use an XML input stream to read in an XML file. I need some understanding how to parse the file into usable data to create html reports. I have attached an XML example of the data I am working with. This would be an example of a file I would get each day and would need to transform the data to run reports on the different attributes in the XML file. I also have an XML config file that sets sting values for each attribute id found in the attached file. I would need to use this configuration file to convert ID's to Names. For example: I would want to display "Item name" rather than "Item ID#".

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If I can prove proof of concept that Kettle can meet our needs, I can then build a case why would should invest into purchasing a EE version. Thank you again for your assistance.

Regards,

Joe

transactions.xml

To read xml files you can use two steps:
    1. xml input stream (stax) (http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/...eam+%28StAX%29)
    2. get data from xml (http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/Get+Data+From+XML)

In my (very limited) experience, get data is much easier to set up and use, I only tried xml input stream with very large xml files (around 1GB).

Once you've extracted your data you can use a Select value step to rename fields.
    You can then use a Microsoft Excel Writer (or Microsoft Excel Output) step to create an excel file.

Note that there are samples in your installation folder in data-integration/samples folder.
    -- Mick --