Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Execute R Script

Default Execute R Script

Hi all!

I am new to Pentaho and I want to send data from MySQL to R (3.0.2 in Windows 7 32 bits), process it and get it back using Spoon. I am trying to use "Execute R Script" step (RScriptPlugin-0.0.4) in Spoon 5.0.1 stable and followed the steps in http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/R+script+executor but I am not able to open the test transformations it includes (even if I installed the suggested plug ins from the Marketplace and I see the icon under "Scripting"). A "Detect empty stream" step after the "R script executor" detects an empty flow and whether "Path to R Script" is void, an invalid or non-existing file name makes no difference. For editing the step I only have one tab (Path to R Script, Input Variables for R script and Output variables form R script sections under Properties). What may be happening and how can I solve it? Is there another way to do it?

Thanks a lot!

I don't have that plug-in installed, so I can't be a lot of help...

But I'm betting that you don't have an input step in your Transformation.
    Steps that are not in the Input folder generally won't run unless they have input coming to them.

Quote Originally Posted by gutlez View Post
    I don't have that plug-in installed, so I can't be a lot of help...

But I'm betting that you don't have an input step in your Transformation.
    Steps that are not in the Input folder generally won't run unless they have input coming to them.
    I have tried both with Table input and CSV input and even inserting "Generate rows".

And you started with SpoonR.bat, rather than spoon.bat?

Yes, SpoonR.bat

As mentioned at the beginning of the thread - I don't have that plugin...
    I've given you all the basic troubleshooting that I can think of.

Thanks for be willing to help I appreciate that