Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Best way for batch conversion of Excel files with Java code

Default Best way for batch conversion of Excel files with Java code

Hello, this is my first post on the forum - I've only been using Spoon for a few weeks. I'm an experienced Java developer working in Germany.

My question: I have a job that performs ETL on Excel sheets, extracting data and saving it to a PostgreSQL DB. So far so good. I have some Excel sheets that need extensive transformations first, such as deleting columns and empty rows, renaming and inserting header fields, filling in some missing values. This was formerly done via an Excel macro; I've written a Java class that uses Apache POI to do the job (much faster than the macro).

What's the best way of integrating this with my job? The Java code needs to read in the whole file to process it, so I'm not sure if a Step is the right way to go. Or should I write a custom plugin for the job?

My envisioned workflow would be giving the job/step a directory, where it then reads all the .xlsx/.xls files and performs the massive transformations, before moving on to the "easier" ETL steps. I've read as much as I could find about UDJC, but am really unsure if that's what I need to do, and if so how I implement processRow when I need to read in all the rows first.

Thanks in advance,

John

The idea behind PDI is to show your logic, so that maintainability is easier.

Each of the things that you want to do (dropping some rows, adding values to others) with the exception of adding header fields (why does a DB need them?) is possible with PDI steps.

If you do it with PDI steps, rather than direct Java code, then when the next person comes along to help you, they can see the logic that you are using to do the transformation.