Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Automate file naming with incremental numbering

Question Automate file naming with incremental numbering

Hi all,

This is probably a fairly basic question, I'm new to Pentaho, and have found myself stumped.

I have to do a simple extract from a SQL database each day, and output a flat text file. This part isn't an issue, but the file that is outpu has to follow a particular structure similar to: 'NamePart1_XXXXXX_NamePart2'. The 'XXXXX' part needs to 0000001 initially, going up by 1 with every daily run.

Can anyone suggest how this can be done at all?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Kind regards,

Andy

For starters: There's a step "Get System Info" you can use to obtain the current date. You may have decided on a start date kept in a variable, so use step "Get Variables" to retrieve that value as a Date as well. Step "Calculator" can help you to compute the days between both dates (delta = Date A - Date B). Specify a suitable number format like 00000 for the Integer result. Your final filename can be a concatenation of literal constants and your delta value. Text File Output is able to read the filename from a field.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Hi Marabu,

Thanks very much for the update.
    I don't actually want to refer to the current date, however, I just need the file name to include the digits '000001' to start with, moving to '000002', '000003' etc. going up 1 with each run.

Is this possible at all?

Kind regards,

I thought it easier to derive the counter from the system clock than maintaining a synchronized counter using some kind of persistence (file, db, ...).
    So yes, it is possible, of course.

Hi Marabu,

Thanks for your further reply.
    I don't suppose you'd be in a position to actually talk me through the steps of doing such a thing would you? I am completely new to the product, as I mentioned, so don't really have a clue where to start unfortunately.

Kind regards,

Andy