Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Execute Row SQL Script using MSSQL connection in Transformation

Default Execute Row SQL Script using MSSQL connection in Transformation

Hello all,

I'm trying to run a particular set of scripts using an MSSQL connection. I have the "Read SQL from file" checked and I'm successfully inserting dynamic file paths into the "SQL field name" field.

My issue comes in when one of the scripts actually runs. This particular script has two different statements (a drop statement and create statement). The error that I get when I try to run this is: "'CREATE/ALTER PROCEDURE' must be the first statement in a query batch." Any advice?

-Tim

Also, the version I'm running is 5.2.0.

Sorry, I'm new to the Kettle forum here. I should have also mentioned that there is a semi-colon after my drop statement. The two statements do work individually, as tested in Microsoft SQL Server 2008 R2. This script does work in a job using the SQL from file step. It's only in a transformation in the Execute Row SQL Script step that this does not work. The more I look at it, the more I'm thinking that this is a bug. Please advise if I should submit this as one.

Can anyone else confirm/replicate the issue or offer any advice? I tried submitting a bug report in Jira, but it didn't get posted.
    Last edited by timstoffel; 01-08-2015 at 10:22 AM.

Wouldn't you use GO to separate MSSQL batch statements?
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Thanks for the suggestion! I get a syntax error with the GO in. "Incorrect syntax near 'go'." I ran it in Management Studio to make sure the syntax was correct and it is. I think the GO separator is specific to Management Studio. I've never been able to put GO in statements being ran by Spoon. Other thoughts?

You're right, GO is only understood by the MSSQL tools.

What's the rationale behind your choice of using step "Execute Row SQL Script"?