Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Pentaho MapReduce job for Cloudera 5.2 (YARN2)

Default Pentaho MapReduce job for Cloudera 5.2 (YARN2)

I'm using PDI 5.2 community edition (Kettle).

I'm also running a three node cluster through CDH5.2 (Cloudera 5.2). I don't see shims for CDH52 so am using the shims for CDH51 instead. HDFS connectivity from Kettle works fine, which made me very much excited.

I was trying a sample practice in http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/BAD/...regate+Dataset.

Following the practice, I'm trying to connect to the cluster through the "Pentaho MapReduce" job. However, when I see the "Cluster" tab of the "Pentaho MapReduce" job, I see the settings for JobTrackers instead of settings for ResourceManager.

I checked the instruction in the wiki site (http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/BAD/...for+YARN+Shims), but honestly, I am not following what it is saying since I am a beginner in this area.

Do you have any idea what I am possibly missing?

Thanks,
    Daniel

The UI has not been updated for MapReduce v2 / YARN, hence the references to JobTracker, NameNode, etc. Most of the settings you'll need for CDH 5.x are in the shim (the *-site.xml files). Set the hostname properties to match your cluster (they default to the Cloudera QuickStart VM), and in the Pentaho MapReduce dialog, whenever you see a reference to a NameNode or JobTracker hostname, use the ResourceManager hostname. If it refers to an HDFS location, use your ResourceManager's hostname in the HDFS URL.

Thank you for the help. It worked as I followed your guidance.
    For those who may be scratching their head as I did, what I did was to put the correct hostname in the YARN shims (plugins/pentaho-big-data-plugin/hadoop-configurations/cdh51/yarn-site.xml file) as below:

<name>yarn.resourcemanager.hostname</name>
    <value>n1.example.com</value>